Closed An easy £20? a 4gb CF card, IDE cable and a NooB

Status
Not open for further replies.

WhoShotMrWhite

CTRL+LeftAmiga+RightAmiga
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Posts
265
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Liverpool
I have a 4gb CF card, the IDE cable and even the little caddy thing you slide the card into, just no idea or the ability to get all of this kinda thing sorted on it, believe I've tried, I've just resided to the fact that I'm never gonna be able to do it... anyone fancy the task if I send em' all the bits and we'll call it £20 for your trouble???

I am genuine (check my feedback) and will only accept an offer from someone equally as trustworthy (y)

Let me know via a PM, thanks in advance!
 

johnim

New member
VIP
Rating - 100%
153   0   0
Joined
May 18, 2010
Posts
13,051
Country
England
Region
birmingham
if you send me the stuff and your workbench disks i will do it for you.
but it is simple really
 

Witcher1979

New member
Banned
Rating - 100%
153   0   0
Joined
May 30, 2010
Posts
2,389
Country
Westleton, Suffolk, UK
Region
Suffolk
I just sent you a PM. I will do this for you, I dont want £20 either, just cover postage and give me some extra tokens for 1 pint of beer ;)

---------- Post added at 21:38 ---------- Previous post was at 21:38 ----------

ah beat by johnim (y)
 

StrontiumDog

New member
Banned
Rating - 100%
195   0   1
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
2,888
Country
United Kingdom
Region
The Willen Lake
@ Ipod_sock

I would have just asked for the CF card and your return address.

Doesn't take long to set up a CF card with WHDLoad, especially when you have the entire lot backed up on CD with an install script :D
 

ChrisUnionNJ

We Will Never Forget..
Rating - 100%
79   0   0
Joined
Jun 28, 2010
Posts
3,749
Country
USA
Region
Union,NJ
So Jon why do I need help if I can read your Sig I did it at a glance??:nuts:

I just had to ask..sorry guys..

Chris :coffee:
 

HonestFlames

New member
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Posts
346
Country
England
Region
Shropshire
It's only easy if you know how ;)

Having a CF reader in your laptop (or monitor, in my case) makes things much easier. WinUAE to the rescue :D
 

Tajmaster

Truth, Justice, all that stuff.
Rating - 100%
289   0   0
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Posts
5,289
Country
UK
Region
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Thats interesting :) I have a CF card that I can plug into my A1200's IDE port and will function as a hard drive and I can play all the WHDLoad games on it. How do I get WinUAE to recognise this as a hard drive if I plug it into my card reader on my laptop?
 

Witcher1979

New member
Banned
Rating - 100%
153   0   0
Joined
May 30, 2010
Posts
2,389
Country
Westleton, Suffolk, UK
Region
Suffolk
Just goto the add harddrive tab and it will be listed as a drive.

---------- Post added at 22:40 ---------- Previous post was at 22:35 ----------

If you run Linux like me you can use this with e-uae

mount -t affs -o uid=(your_uid_here) /dev/???
 

HonestFlames

New member
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Posts
346
Country
England
Region
Shropshire
Just goto the add harddrive tab and it will be listed as a drive.

---------- Post added at 22:40 ---------- Previous post was at 22:35 ----------

If you run Linux like me you can use this with e-uae

mount -t affs -o uid=(your_uid_here) /dev/???

If you're running WinUAE on Windows 7 (and this probably applies to Vista), the 'Add Harddrive' option is greyed-out unless you run WinUAE as Administrator (right click on the WinUAE icon, select 'Run as admin...').
 

Tajmaster

Truth, Justice, all that stuff.
Rating - 100%
289   0   0
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Posts
5,289
Country
UK
Region
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Just goto the add harddrive tab and it will be listed as a drive.

---------- Post added at 22:40 ---------- Previous post was at 22:35 ----------

If you run Linux like me you can use this with e-uae

mount -t affs -o uid=(your_uid_here) /dev/???

If you're running WinUAE on Windows 7 (and this probably applies to Vista), the 'Add Harddrive' option is greyed-out unless you run WinUAE as Administrator (right click on the WinUAE icon, select 'Run as admin...').


WOOT! Thats exactly what was happening (I never log in as an admin). Ill give it a go tonight, thank you all for your help and sorry for hijacking the OPs thread, lol! (y)(y)(y)
 

WhoShotMrWhite

CTRL+LeftAmiga+RightAmiga
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Posts
265
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Liverpool
DAMMIT! finally booted up my newly acquired Miggy 1200 tonight, slotted in new 4gb card all set up by Jimbo and running into probs, except Zool, can't see ANY of the games and only a few demos?!?!

wb4wdd.jpg

wb3wd.jpg

wb2.jpg

wb1.jpg

wb5wd.jpg


---------- Post added at 21:44 ---------- Previous post was at 20:45 ----------

Been sorted now, getting redone ;)
 
Last edited:

WhoShotMrWhite

CTRL+LeftAmiga+RightAmiga
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Posts
265
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Liverpool
You must have wiped it somehow. I had all the whdload games/demos on here. I used it myself

Also you never actually paid for postage either.

Cheers

:eek:
Flippin' Eck, I wasn't having a pop Jimbo! yesterday was the first time I even used it so I know I haven't 'wiped' anything, as I say, the workbench and large graphical icons are spot on and I'm very VERY grateful but with the exception of some mods, the 'Z' games draw (only) and a selection of demos there wasn't anything else there, believe me, I've looked. Also, I offered more than 3 times to reimburse you for postage and still have the 'sent' mails in my box... and was ignored. I can ask a 4th time?

There is no Problem Existing Between the Chair And Keyboard
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
@ ipod_sock

At the risk of using a well-worn cliche on a Liverpudlian; calm down, eh....

(As a Manc, I'd better put my flame-proof suit on....)

:LOL:

@ Jimbo1979

Open your PM box and read your messages or clear out some mails, will ya? It sounds like your PM box is full.....

(y)
 

WhoShotMrWhite

CTRL+LeftAmiga+RightAmiga
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
10   0   0
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Posts
265
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Liverpool
Haha, trust me I'm calm, I'm calm Merlin but aha! yes, you appear to be the voice of reason... Was born and bred here but I'm hopefully about a million miles away from that 'all too often true' cliché of Scousers, I love Mancs, it's all the North West innit!?! lol never did get all that :huh: think we're just jealous of your (4 times larger) town, better dressed girls (with no rollers in their hair (y) ) and much better (well, atm anyway) footy team ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom