Sold Atari 520 STe

Status
Not open for further replies.

princesspickles

New member
Banned
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Joined
Aug 6, 2015
Posts
63
Country
UK
Region
Avon
Just bought a joblot and do not need these.
For sale is an Atari STe 520 with 4mb of ram.
STe case is yellowed but powers on fine..no further
testing done so sold as described. It comes with
an RF cable and kettle lead. Also a mouse.
I will also include a handy scanner with interface,
And around 100 disks. I would like £40 the lot.
Pictures can be provided on request. Cheers
 

XorA

Member
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Posts
80
Country
UK
Region
Lanarkshire
Hi this is my first ST. I was under the impression that ST booted to its desktop without a disk?

This machine just gives we white output and appears to continuously reboot?
 

Tuxbar81

Active member
Rating - 100%
161   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Posts
2,176
Country
France
Region
Midi-Pyrenees
Yes, you just have to wait a little bit. Around 60 seconds, I think. After, you have the "desktop" with a green background.
 
Last edited:

XorA

Member
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Posts
80
Country
UK
Region
Lanarkshire
Its been about 5 minutes now.

I have managed to find a couple of games disks that boot into their game so machine is not totally dead.

Any ideas?
 

XorA

Member
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Posts
80
Country
UK
Region
Lanarkshire
Yes drive clicks a couple of times, then screen flashes, repeat
 
Last edited:

Tuxbar81

Active member
Rating - 100%
161   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Posts
2,176
Country
France
Region
Midi-Pyrenees
And after, the ckicking stops?
Perhaps your Atari is onto the desktop, but you see nothing... I had a problem of white screen with my Amiga(s) onto a TV. The Workbench of my Amiga was displayed when I used one scart connector of the TV, and I had a white screen with the other one.
When you insert a floppy into the drive, you see that the drive reads the floppy?

I'm sorry, I have to go now. I'll come back tomorrow evening. I hope you'll find the solution of your issue.
 

XorA

Member
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Posts
80
Country
UK
Region
Lanarkshire
2015-08-26 21.02.01.jpg

Going to take a wild guess that this might be the issue!

- - - Updated - - -

When you insert a floppy into the drive, you see that the drive reads the floppy?

When I put in one of the 3 games I have found that work it boots to the game.

Other disks it sounds like something is ready 1 track, then screen flashes and it repeats!
 

XorA

Member
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Joined
Sep 14, 2011
Posts
80
Country
UK
Region
Lanarkshire
Well I think I repaired that soldering mess successfully.

The machine will now click the floppy disk a few times then go to a screen of bombs!
 

Sardine

Well-known member
Staff member
Staff Moderator
Blogger
Rating - 100%
254   0   0
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Posts
11,934
Country
England
Region
Merseyside
that soldering is to select the "ROM" chip size and type ?? could it be set to the wrong type and thats why it bombs ?? most games don't require the rom to load.

have you tried taking the ram out and using just one stick at a time ?
 
Last edited:

Tuxbar81

Active member
Rating - 100%
161   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2012
Posts
2,176
Country
France
Region
Midi-Pyrenees
Here are the significations of bombs error: (from wikipedia)

1 bomb: Reset, Initial PC2
2 bombs: Bus Error (user does something the ST doesn't permit)
3 bombs: Address Error (usually error in program)
4 bombs: Illegal Instruction (two prgs using same memory space)
5 bombs: Division by zero
6 bombs: CHK Instruction
7 bombs: TRAPV Instruction (usually ROM error)
8 bombs: Privilege Violation
9 bombs: Trace
10 bombs: Line 1010 Emulator
11 bombs: Line 1111 Emulator
12–13 bombs: [unassigned, reserved]
14 bombs: Format Error
15 bombs: Uninitialized Interrupt Vector
16–23 bombs: [unassigned, reserved]
24 bombs: Spurious Interrupt (might be 68901 and/or GLUE chip)
25 bombs: Level 1 Interrupt Autovector
26 bombs: Level 2 Interrupt Autovector
27 bombs: Level 3 Interrupt Autovector
28 bombs: Level 4 Interrupt Autovector
29 bombs: Level 5 Interrupt Autovector
30 bombs: Level 6 Interrupt Autovector
31 bombs: Level 7 Interrupt Autovector
32–47 bombs: Trap Instruction Vectors
48–63 bombs: [unassigned, reserved]
64–255 bombs: User Interrupt Vectors
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom