Azryl

Azryl

Country
Australia
Region
Benalla, North East Victoria
Just want to say hello

I'm another Aussie who lives in Melbourne

Started in computers 1984 while attending Art & Design course, taught myself programming on Vaxen Mainframe. 1985 bought a Commodore64 and taught myself assembly language and wrote a few demo type programs with sprites etc

1986 bought my first Amiga 500 which had a left commodore key! >anyone remember tho's? < and started to learn assembly language and again write small demo type things using the copper and blitter etc

I worked as a Graphic Designer for an Australian company in Richmond Melbourne that supplied in hotel direct movie sales. They used approximately 350 Amiga 500's and another 300+ Amiga 1200's for the display of multimedia animations and movie selection software.

I was responsible for one the largest Amiga systems usage in Australia, New Zealand and parts of Singapore and Asia. More than 600 Amiga's had my software and graphic updates between 1996-2000

I had to dis-assemble the Amiga 500 movie selection software because the company had lost the original source code. This was to fix the Year2000 bug that plagued the change of date and failed rather spectacularly! Updated the graphics and spent months checking code to finally fix the problem with a change to the Workbench 1.3 date executable >alot of the info supplied by Amiga around that time<

While working for the company also redesigned the Amiga 1200 Scala Multimedia systems to fit inside 19inch rack mount cases. These systems had 8meg fast ram, 44pin ide to 40pin adaptors with internal ZIP disks as the only removeable media (ie no floppy) with a normal 3.5inch harddrive.

I wrote startup batch files to check if a new ZIP was inserted, if so copy all the Multimedia contents off the ZIP disk into the Scala partition and when finished eject the ZIP and reboot the system.