Beginner question on Amiga 1200 + Wifi card.

iddqd

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Posts
88
Country
Sweden
Region
Skåne
Hi!

I'm about to become a proud owner of my first A1200, and I'd like to get it on
line as soon as I receive it.

Before I go and buy a LAN or WIFI card known to work on Amiga machines, I
realized I actually already have an unused PCMCIA WIFI card of old!

It is a "Sitecom WL 170 Wireless Network PC Card 54g Turbo 802.11b, 802.11g",
and looks like so:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B000JFXSEQ?*Version*=1&*entries*=0

I've read that the Prism2 WIFI driver supports WPA/WPA2, I think, and my A1200
should meat the specs of 68020 & Kickstart 3.0, as it is 3.1.

So could anyone enlighten me as to if I have any hope using this with my Amiga
1200? It would be nice to make use what I already have.
 

Nobby_UK

New member
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Posts
727
Country
England
Region
Liverpool, Lancs
If like that one, it has a Brass Strip (CardBus) then it will not work (or even fit).

I have a D-Link Air DWL-650 that works (thanks to help with Flashing from Sir_Lucas)
with my 1200 but not my 600
:eek:

So that uses a Kingston KNE-PC2T Ethernet Card Bridged to my PC
.
 
Last edited:

acherion

Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2012
Posts
100
Country
Australia
Region
Melbourne
I have both wired and wireless PCMCIA cards — the wired one is a 3com card, and the wireless is an Orinoco card — and theoretically both of them should work fine, but have found much more success with the 3com card (installed without any issues, with AmiTCP too) compared to the Orinoco, which I can't seem to get working at all. The Orinoco card works OK in my PowerBook G3 Wallstreet, just for some reason I can't get it to work on Amiga.

If you feel you are biting more than you can chew, I suggest try the 3com type of cards (or any wired card that you can find Amiga drivers for), it's probably easier to set up.
 

iddqd

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Posts
88
Country
Sweden
Region
Skåne
I'm not sure how to see if a card is supported by amiga drivers before I buy it. Unless the seller explicitly says so.

I do wonder why no one is buying the cards advertised in the link of my previous post. prism2 drivers and a wifi card that is supposed to work.
 

Nobby_UK

New member
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Posts
727
Country
England
Region
Liverpool, Lancs
The Bridged solution is easiest (and quickest ?)
because your Amiga does not need to negotiate
Passwords etc with the Router - The PC does that.

But of couse your PC needs two NICs...
I have an onboard Lan and USB Wireless Dongle.
 

k0x

Active member
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Posts
1,094
Country
Czech republic
Region
Ostrava
Both ethernet and wireless pcmcia cards works very well on Amiga.

Please see my thread where are links how to setup WPA2 wifi pcmcia card on Amiga.


Be advised that both wifi and lan cards works on unexpanded A1200 but turbocard is strongly recommended.
 

Sir_Lucas

Active member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Posts
1,106
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
@Nobby_UK
Thank you for you kind words :)
@acherion
Orinoco is a little bit more diffcult to set up as it only supports WPA/TKIP. First thing is to setup your router into B/G mode then use only WPA/TKIP. Don't use the mixed mode.
@iddqd
I've sold many WIFI cards and Zyxel WIFI cards sell as well.
Check it here: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=77831
Also, check my feedback I always give support.

WPA2/AES cards are a little easier to set up with modern routers. But again only WPA2/AES and B/G mode.
If you are interested in the LAN cards check my thread here:

https://www.amibay.com/showthread.p...AMIGA-A600-A1200-PCMCIA&highlight=netgear+lan

https://www.amibay.com/showthread.p...et-pcmcia-card-box-a600-1200&highlight=belkin
 

iddqd

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Posts
88
Country
Sweden
Region
Skåne
@Nobby_UK you were quite right, it does not fit any Amiga.

Now I'm thinking about how to flash it for use in "modern" computers (GNU/Linux and/or Windows). Maybe @Sir_Lucas have some idea on where to look? I've searched a lot, but I don't know what the prerequisites for the card are. Can my "Sitecom WL 170 Wireless Network PC Card 54g Turbo 802.11b, 802.11g" be flashed using the instructions on http://linux.junsun.net/intersil-prism/ or http://wiki.classicamiga.com/Setting_up_Wireless_Internet_Access_on_A1200
 

Sir_Lucas

Active member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Posts
1,106
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
@iddqd

Sitecom WL 170 Wireless Network PC Card 54g Turbo 802.11b, 802.11g cannot be flashed using that instruction because it's based upon Marvel chipset. The instruction that you've posted is only for the Prism based cards.

Have you tried using your card in a Linux based laptop? Or WinXP using the proper drivers? You probably don't need to flash it at all. It should work straight on.
 

iddqd

Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2015
Posts
88
Country
Sweden
Region
Skåne
cannot be flashed using that instruction because it's based upon Marvel chipset.

Thanks, very valuable information.

Have you tried using your card in a Linux based laptop? Or WinXP using the proper drivers?
Actually, this rings a bell. Maybe you're right, that it will work on Windows XP, but I've only used it on GNU/Linux, where it is only WEP capable.

Thanks for the info!
 

Sir_Lucas

Active member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Posts
1,106
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Actually, this rings a bell. Maybe you're right, that it will work on Windows XP, but I've only used it on GNU/Linux, where it is only WEP capable.

Thanks for the info!

Try also using WinXP zero wireless configuration with Service Pack 3. It should give the option for WPA/WPA2

https://www.google.pl/?gws_rd=ssl#q=Sitecom+WL+170+Wireless+Network+PC+Card+WPA

Check the first link. It's data sheet.

Also check this great WLAN WPA2/AES networking tutorial by TenLeftFingers.

 
Last edited:
Top Bottom