Buddha won't install

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
Hi, it's me again

my Buddha wont install, when i click on install it says

"Approx 400k of disk space is needed on your SYS:volume.

You only have 1002451K free.

Delete or transfer some files from SYS:volume and try again"


any ideas?

thanks
 

cosmicfrog

The 1 That Ribbits
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Posts
3,098
Country
UK
Region
Leek, Staffordshire Moorlands
your partion is 2 big

you need new file system ie latest fastfile or something similar
 

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,984
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
You might have other problems if your boot partition is too big best fix it now im case you loose your data.

You'll need to backup and re-install.

Unless its possible to manually install the files?

Steve.
 

PymerOne

Noob pur sang
AmiBayer
Joined
Jul 16, 2010
Posts
515
Country
Netherlands, Europe
Region
NoordHolland, Far side of civilisation's border.
Dear JuvUK,

can you put a few large files (diskimage from another disk or some such) on the sys volume, so that 500mb free space remains?
Maybe this tricks the freespace error you encounterred.
Be carefull though, if filesystem does not support the size of your sys volume you might loose all data.

Grtz, PymerOne.
 

cosmicfrog

The 1 That Ribbits
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Posts
3,098
Country
UK
Region
Leek, Staffordshire Moorlands
but still wont solve his underlying problem which will lead to data corruption eventually
 

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
running SFS latest file system

problem solved anyway, edit the install script to remove the 400K limit warning:D
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Been on the phone to the Juvinator!

what this is quite simple (and a simple fix) - the InstallScript cannot read the NSDpatched device properly and hence its variable that is used to store the size of the disk is not big enough - so the reported size over-flows the positive value and swings back into a negative value - heres how

an integer (whole number) on an Amiga uses 32bits to store a value - this value can be from -2,147,483,648 to +2,147,483,647 with 0 being in the middle -

hence the geeky chuckle that a computer storing nothing takes up as much space lol...yeah...shoot me now.

Okay - so the above represents a problem when dealing with a Controller and Format that deals in 64bits (SFS with NSD/SCSI Direct/TrackDisk64 etc) so to get past this bit the quickest way is to hack the install script "Install"


Its quite simple you just delete lines 27 though to (and including) line 31


This error check needs to be removed
Code:
(if (< (getdiskspace "SYS:") 409600)
    (abort "\n\nApproximately 400K of disk space is needed on your SYS: volume."
             "\n\nYou only have " (/ (getdiskspace "SYS:") 1024)    "K free.\n\n"
             "Delete or transfer some files from the SYS: volume and try again." )
)
remember the trailing ")" at the bottom

now,save and exit - then hit the installer and away it goes.


Now, as we all know (now atleast) NSD is a kludge that needs to be reconfigured - a lot lol and the reason is the classic scsi.device

Juvs config is a little unique in that it has an A4091 SCSI controller this is also SCSI.device - so, how does the Amiga differeciate this?... well it calls it "2nd.scsi.device" but only if the is a device on the internal IDE - if not this card defaults to "scsi.device"

So lets add a Catweasel Z2 Mk2 - how do you think this IDE device is configure? yep you guess it .... its called "scsi.device"... now under the A2000 it would be happy as "scsi.device" and under A4000 normally this would be "2nd.scsi.device" HOWEVER as you now know Juvy has an A4091 content with "2nd.scsi.device" and when the Catweasel is installed it steals "2nd.scsi.device" and then bumps the A4091 to "3rd.scsi.device"

Now the wonderfull kludge that is NSDPatch requires an update in its config table so you need to edit the NSDPatch.cfg to include the following

"Devs:NSDPatch.cfg"
Code:
DEVICE 2nd.scsi.device      DEVICETYPE NSDEVTYPE_TRACKDISK  VERSION 43 ISNSD FIXSCSIUPDATE
DEVICE 2nd.scsi.device      DEVICETYPE NSDEVTYPE_TRACKDISK  VERSION 43 REVISION 22 ISNSD
DEVICE 2nd.scsi.device      DEVICETYPE NSDEVTYPE_TRACKDISK  COMMANDS 1-15,20-23,28 VERSION 40 REVISION 20 FIXSCSIUPDATE
DEVICE 2nd.scsi.device      DEVICETYPE NSDEVTYPE_TRACKDISK  COMMANDS 1-15,20-23,28,!22 FIXSCSIUPDATE
then also add

Code:
DEVICE 3rd.scsi.device      DEVICETYPE NSDEVTYPE_TRACKDISK  VERSION 43 ISNSD FIXSCSIUPDATE
DEVICE 3rd.scsi.device      DEVICETYPE NSDEVTYPE_TRACKDISK  VERSION 43 REVISION 22 ISNSD
DEVICE 3rd.scsi.device      DEVICETYPE NSDEVTYPE_TRACKDISK  COMMANDS 1-15,20-23,28 VERSION 40 REVISION 20 FIXSCSIUPDATE
DEVICE 3rd.scsi.device      DEVICETYPE NSDEVTYPE_TRACKDISK  COMMANDS 1-15,20-23,28,!22 FIXSCSIUPDATE
Now with this hard disks will work and patched for NSD - hence 64bit support =D

now.... with this IDE Hardisks are running along quite nicely, however we annot seem to get the atapi.device "buddha_atapi.device" to see and Optical Drives

which is not only weird but just damn right rude!
 
Top Bottom