Closed Catweasel Z2 or other Z2 IDE Adapter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Rating - 100%
137   0   0
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Hello my fellow AmiBayers

I as have a sadend heart as it turns out my Catweasel Z2 is a dead card, - no life in any of my Zorro Machines and no entry in the early startup to know its alive - I beleive it has suffered CPLD failure/death

Its a shame as it was part of my A2000 build that seems to be lagging a lot behind. So I appeal to my fellow AmiBayers whom might be coinsidering selling a Catweasel Z2 or other IDE Zorro 2 Adapter that supports autobooting - then please consider selling it to me to complete this unique one off A2000 =)

I would also be interested in any of these other following cards/adapters

A-Team 2000
AccessX 2000
Buddha
Buddha Flash


Thanks for reading =)
 

musashi5150

move.w #$4489,$dff07e
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Posts
252
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
How about one of these Zeets? (bottom pic)

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showhardware.cgi?HARDID=523

It appears to be fully populated with ZIPs as well (card and RAM untested - may not work but looks ok). You'd be welcome to try it out first. Maybe if it works you could do me a nice swap for something? ;) I know it's not one of the cards you asked for but it's just in a box here for several years.
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Rating - 100%
137   0   0
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
@Musashi

Interesting my friend, is the card auto bootable? it could be useable in the project if it was my friend.


@demuse

Ahh yes indeed, pending on price this would put my A2000 project back on track =)
 

musashi5150

move.w #$4489,$dff07e
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Posts
252
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
@Musashi
Interesting my friend, is the card auto bootable? it could be useable in the project if it was my friend.

I don't know anything more than BBOAH says. I would assume it would be :)
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Rating - 100%
107   0   0
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Rating - 100%
137   0   0
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
is there any limmitations to the controller ?


i.e. a maximum Disk size?


(a little excited =))
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Rating - 100%
107   0   0
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
is there any limmitations to the controller ?


i.e. a maximum Disk size?


(a little excited =))

It's only PIO, not DMA. Not sure about maximum disk size. Amiga Resource has a ZIP file of the ROM for the card, so you might be able to flash an up-to-date ROM, which hopefully addresses things like that. It uses HDInstTools to partition the disk, so I'd guess you stand a chance of putting something worthwhile on there.

Looking at that ROM image, I see the string "oktagon.device 6.10 (26.08.95)" so if it's post-1995, I'd expect it to handle larger disks.

Hope this helps!

(y)
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Rating - 100%
109   0   0
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
If the board uses Oktagon.device, it surely will accept at least 2GiB HDs and even CD devices. :)
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Rating - 100%
137   0   0
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
ahh... the adapter needs to be able to hand 20 - 40GB's =(
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Rating - 100%
137   0   0
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
@andy

Theres the common misconception thats its always a hardware limmit... this is not the case - the native SCSI on the Amiga, (once the software is updated) can use SFS - thats 128GB+ (Partion sizes of 100GB)

basically put - if the controller supports TD64 / SCSI Direct then it comes down to the software / firmware.

PFS2/3 and SFS can have VERY LARGE disk support - in the case of PFS2/3 you can have a 2TB hard disk - on an A500 - although parition size is a maximum of 108GB only lol with the right type of controller and software

The GVP controller is capable of large disk support - alas it doesn't have 64bit disk support out of the box (you need a GuruROM) thus its limmited to (3.8GB ish disk size) under 4.15 GVP ROM (Ralph will correct me if I am wrong) as it cannot address/access the geometery of the larger diskdrives.

The Buddha / Catwesal series of cards support TD64 and I believe SCSI Direct - they use Oliver Kastle's IDE Fix SCSI.device which is pretty damn impressive (as good if not better than OS3.9's SCSI.device) this allows for support of MUCH bigger Harddrives.
 

demusse

New member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Joined
May 27, 2009
Posts
36
Country
Belgium
Region
Limburg
i found the board and will take some snaps later
if you are still looking i'm willing to part with it for a fair price
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Rating - 100%
137   0   0
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
@demusse

please let me know how much you would like =)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom