CF HDD too slow for scummvm.

bundyboy123

New member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Posts
205
Country
Australia
Region
Victoria
I have installed Scummvm for the amiga to run some old dos games.
Mainly I want to play Full Throttle on my A1200 060@50mhz.
My CF HDD wont keep up when reading the recorded speech and videos.
I have seen youtube videos where it works really well and smooth on 060.
In sysinfo my DH0 and DH1 speed is 1,763,300 bytes/sec.
I thought this would be fast enough as the games back then read at 300k/s cd-rom.
Do I need to purchase a faster CF card? , the one I have is really cheep, ( $15 for 2GB ).
Any help would be great.

Thanks
 

vulture

Member
AmiBayer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Posts
407
Country
Greece
Region
Athens
In theory, the CF speed shouldn't be a problem, but maybe - just maybe, although the original release didn't need more than 300kb of throughput, the way ScummVM works, raises the requirements. If that's the case, I'm not sure that by changing your CF with a faster one would do you much good. My guess would be that you need a faster interface like a scsi, a fastata or an ide express. Also, what's the filesystem you've been using on your CF and how many buffers have you allocated to it?
 
Last edited:

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,981
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
Actually, with scummvm drive speed is very important. If you can use scsi or a fastata you will get better results. Another drive won't change you raw speeds.

Some things you can try to optimise. Add more buffers, use a file system like sfs or pfs3 and patch the scsi device with a new version, cosmos ones perform the fastest. Maybe then you can achieve over 2mb/sec. Only the scsi device will effect the raw speed though.
 

bundyboy123

New member
Joined
Feb 23, 2015
Posts
205
Country
Australia
Region
Victoria
How do I partition and format the HDD with fastest file system for OS 3.9 ?
 
Last edited:

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,981
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
You'll be fine for games that don't use video sequences but full throttle you'll need more throughput on the ide.

What about file system., buffers and scsi device? You can at least try this for free.
 

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,981
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
You need to have a read of some guides and do some research to get the most out of your hardware.
 

vulture

Member
AmiBayer
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Posts
407
Country
Greece
Region
Athens
Top Bottom