Cleaning Epson print heads

Harrison

Country
UK
Region
West Sussex
Does anyone know a way to clean Epson print heads?

Unlike HP and other printers the print head isn't part of the cartridge, but rather the printer itself, so it isn't replaced with each cartridge replacement.

I've got an Epson Photo EX A3 printer I've been using for many years and until recently it has worked perfectly.

I've always used genuine Epson ink to avoid clogging, fading and to get the best print quality. However when I got married I had to print our Order of Service, totalling 70 copies, and about 1400 pages printed in total!

As you can imagine that is a lot of ink, and I ran out of the genuine cartridges I had, and because of time limits the only ones I could get to finish the printing were third party cheap ones. They seemed to work OK at the time and got the job done. However since then I have had issues getting the printer to print, and have needed to keep cleaning the printheads every few copies because of gaps and lines in the printing. So I won't be using third party ink again any time soon.

However, now I'm not getting anything from the black cartridges. The colour is printing correctly, but I'm not getting anything at all from the black cartridge. I just replaced it with a new Epson cartridge but still nothing. Any ideas?

Harrison

Country
UK
Region
West Sussex
Do you have something against Epsons?

New A3 Epsons cost close to £400 so I want to get this working if I can, rather than spend a lot of money I might not need to.

I've found a guide on how to unclog Epson Print heads here, so I will try that when I get time.

Tajmaster

Truth, Justice, all that stuff.
Country
UK
Region
Bradford, West Yorkshire