Closed Design IT A3020/A4000 Ethernet Card for RJ45 Ethernet Mini-podule

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlie

.. . Mouse . ..
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Wirral
Hello all.

Here's a piece of kit I never thought I'd consider letting go.


Its a Design IT A3020/A4000 Ethernet Card. It plugs into the internal Ethernet socket found only in the Acorn A3020 and A4000 computers.
This one is brand-new (old stock), never used, and most importantly has the external adaptor (MAU) - these usually go missing and the card is useless without one! Better still; it's the even more uncommon RJ45 version - usually BNC.

Benefits:
You can network your A3020/A4000 and still have your internal 'podule' slot free for other upgrades.

Why?
Because I don't own an A3020/A4000 and after studying the schematics hacking this card into an A3000 isn't going to happen.
So I'm after a standard Ethernet mini-podule instead. (RJ45 version only please)

Like this:
ANT_Ethernet_10baseTMiniA.jpg

This one happens to be an ANT Ethernet mini-podule​

So:
Design IT A3020/A4000 Ethernet Card for a RJ45 Ethernet mini-podule (not BNC). Straight swap.

Mine should be working (as it's unused) but I can't test it. So I suggest if either card proves non-functional they get swapped-back.

Thanks. :)
 
Last edited:

r0jaws

Mondeo Man
Rating - 100%
160   0   0
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Posts
7,237
Country
UK
Region
Lincolnshire
Unfortunately I don't have the swap you want, but if you ever decide to sell it, I would be interested.
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
@ Charlie

Dammit! :Doh:

My A3020 has the I-Cubed Etherlan 200 podule in it (which I think isn't what you want) however, I haven't got the 10BaseT adapter for it, but they are fairly common. Is this any use to you...?

http://acorn.chriswhy.co.uk/Network/Pics/I3_EtherLAN200.html

R0jaws has maybe beaten me to the punch, with an offer to buy.
 

Charlie

.. . Mouse . ..
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Wirral
Hi chaps, thanks for the interest.

@r0jaws:
I'm most interested in a swap but if there's no takers I'll put up a price to buy...
...probably not fair of me to keep it when it's not being used.

@Merlin:
Kind of you to think of me. Not what I'm after, I'm afraid.

Just in case peeps are wondering:
My A3000's got a WE HD mini-podule with a full-sized network podule hanging out the back. (destined for my A5000)
The 'plan' is to get hold of an Ethernet mini-podule, plug that in place of the HD one and then wire the HD Mini-podule into the back of the network card.
That gets all the cards in-board and frees the external slot. I think the mini-podule bus has enough lines to address more than one card...
 

salaxi54

Incoming ASROC!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Rating - 100%
138   0   1
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Posts
3,864
Country
GREECE
Region
Athens
@sdg: maybe you were confusing it with a CBM A4000? That's an Acorn "Archie" Archimedes A4000 :D
 

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Rating - 100%
190   0   0
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Posts
7,069
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC
Ahh! Thank you for clearing that up for me. :D Being from the USA, I don't know anything about the Acorns.

Take care,

Heather
 

Charlie

.. . Mouse . ..
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Wirral
Hi Heather,
Yes, sadly no Acorns in the US and to add confusion they were very keen to give their computers similar names to Amigas...
...hmm, I wonder why..?
 

jvdbossc

HypnusBE
Rating - 100%
90   0   0
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Posts
3,326
Country
Belgium
Region
Antwerp (province)
It's rather strange and unknow unit to me to.. It sounds rather Brithish: BBC, archimedes:roll: I took some time to read about it, we used old pc's in schools, and yes the great C64, old apples etc..
 

Charlie

.. . Mouse . ..
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Wirral
CHange of Plan:

CHange of Plan:

Ok chaps,
I guess nobody has a mini-podule network card to swap for the above.

I probably shouldn't be sitting on hardware that others may find useful, so I'll bide my time on the card I want...

How about:
£15.00 + Postage to the first person who asks?

Small print:
It's new (old stock) so should be working but I don't have the hardware to test it.
Should it turn out to be non-functional then return for full refund.
(not inc postage)
 

Charlie

.. . Mouse . ..
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Wirral
Good, good - It's yours! :)

Do give me a PM regarding details.

Charles.
 

r0jaws

Mondeo Man
Rating - 100%
160   0   0
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Posts
7,237
Country
UK
Region
Lincolnshire
Unfortunately, as my deal with Rich has fallen through I will have to pass on this. :(
 

chiefwhosm

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
May 16, 2010
Posts
6
Country
UK
Hi,
I'm interested in buying the card as long as it's still available and you accept paypal payments.

Chief :)
 

Charlie

.. . Mouse . ..
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Wirral
Hi chiefwhosm,
Thanks for your interest. r0jaws has dibbs on it at the mo' but may have to pull out.

If you are in a position to be patient do keep an eye on the thread.

Regards,
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
3 weeks does seem to be a little long to be still wondering?

Kin
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom