Dial-Up Amiga Games

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Posts
7,069
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC
Hey everyone,

Does anyone know if there is a way to play Dial-Up Amiga Games (Such as Firepower) over the internet using WinUAE or any other emulator? I would love to be able to play some of these games against my friend from High School; we used to play constantly.

Thanks guys!

Heather
 

Harrison

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Posts
10,153
Country
UK
Region
West Sussex
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

You might be able to get them working using WinUAE - Kaillera. Which you can find at http://kaillera.abime.net/

However, this project was discontinued quite some time ago so the version of WinUAE used in the last version released is quite old. 0.8.23 or something. It allows you to play Amiga games over a network or internet connection so it is what you are looking for.

I am actually very surprised that no other projects have continued this idea for more emulators, or that no one else has tried to continue with Kaillera.
 

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Posts
7,069
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

That is truly an amazing project! I wish it was still in development. Unfortunately, it seems more like a remote control mechanism, allowing both players to play on the same virtual machine, than allowing you to emulate a dial-up modem over the internet.

I'm not holding out too much hope for this... I could hook up a modem to my Amiga and dial long distance but my friend and I both no longer have land lines... Stupid technological advances... :D

Thanks!

Heather
 

Hessu

Amiga Manic
AmiBayer
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Posts
183
Country
Raisio, Finland
Region
Varsinais-suomi
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

Long time ago, i managed to play Stunt Car Racer, against my friend using A1200<-Null serial cable->Win98PC/WinUAE(I think it was an early version of cloanto) And i think we had to use a Jrcomm/Hypercomm connection between the amiga and pc. Haven't tested it with WinVista, but should work, though, the Hypercomm has to be downloaded or dig it out from previous Windows version, since Vista has dropped it out.
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

Yeah Juv? - Why the self-mod m8y? :LOL:
 

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Posts
7,069
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

@Hessu

But were you playing a local game or over dial-up? He's got a real Amiga to play on but, as I said, neither of us has land lines. I'm somewhat shocked that there is not a program that emulates a modem over Ethernet. Enter the IP Address as the phone number from your old program then the emulated modem "Dials" that IP address and the same software on the other end "Answers".

If I were a programmer, I'd write one myself. :)

Heather
 

Hessu

Amiga Manic
AmiBayer
Joined
Apr 24, 2008
Posts
183
Country
Raisio, Finland
Region
Varsinais-suomi
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

Local, as it was connected via null cable, but it was so long time ago, that i can't tell you for sure, but just told as how i remember it done. By the way, i had a modem connection back then and played many games via modem with my friends, but i think i've never tried it with amiga games, but there was a possibility to make a telnet connection over the ethernet, if i remember this correctly, at least by the windows side. Not sure if there is such a program for amigas.
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

/Kin gazes @ the Monitor Blankly......
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

/Merlin thinks JuvUK made some kind of smutty "interface" type comment, :shock: or summat like that..... :roll: :oops:

fnarr!
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

Ay up! - Merlin has his dirty "laugh head" on again! - Fnarr!! :LOL:
 

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

lol i ain't saying what i thought as it may incriminate me :wink:
wern't nowt 'bout interfaces though lol

JuvUK
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

OK, I think I get it.

Maybe a comment like something about "playing on virtual machines...?"

oooerrr missus!!

I am in "Finbar Saunders" mode tonight, so I think I am sort of in the right area....

/Merlin waits for SdG to really get confused now; Google is your friend, as always.... :D
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

LOL!! I'm crying with laughter wondring wtf Juzzer is making of all this! :LOL:

/Kin rolls off the stage & into the crowd to hide..... 8)
 

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Posts
7,069
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

I asked a question back in February.

SkydivinGirl said:
Does anyone know if there is a way to play Dial-Up Amiga Games (Such as Firepower) over the internet using WinUAE or any other emulator?
Well, I found an answer! A company called Lantronix makes Serial to Ethernet adapters that allow you to connect serial based devices to your network then access them from your computer using a virtual serial port.

They also have another feature. You can connect the serial end of the device to a terminal or retro computer and "Dial" an IP Address and Port using the ATDT command. In order to use this as an internet modem, you would have one of these devices connected to each of your Amiga computers and open a port through your firewall that points to the devices IP address. Next, you open your video game/terminal software/any program that uses a modem and tell it to dial the IP address of the other device. For example, ATDT192.168.0.2,222 would call the IP address 192.168.0.2 port 222.

I used this device to connect my Commodore 128 to Quantum Link Reloaded and from there I was able to chat on IRC from my 8-Bit computer. Unfortunately, the devices aren't cheap and I only have one so I haven't been able to test it connecting two Amiga games to each other. The main problem I can foresee with games is that they may not let you use periods or commas in the phone number field.

Thanks!

Heather
 

Harrison

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Posts
10,153
Country
UK
Region
West Sussex
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

That sounds like a very useful device for older systems. Do you have a link to the actual product you are using? I looked on the http://www.lantronix.com site but they have a lot of products to go through.

Personally though I would love someone to take up the Kaillera idea again and continue developing it for the current version of WinUAE. I don't really understand why this hasn't been done, or why there hasn't been much interest in it being a part of WinUAE.

The SNES emulator SNES9x has had this feature for years and it works perfectly.
 

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Posts
7,069
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC
Re: Dial-Up Amiga Games

The exact model I have is the UDS1100. Click on the model for a link. It has the "Modem Replacement" mode that allows you to use it like I showed. :) Let me know if you get one! I'd love to test a game over this device to see if it will work.

Thanks!

Heather
 
Top Bottom