Closed External SCSI CDROM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: External SCSI CDROM

I might be able to help m8. I'm guessing the hazlenut eating SCSI device you acquired recently has a 25 pin SCSI port to lash up to. Yeah?
 

AlicePPC

Member
Rating - 100%
51   0   0
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Posts
487
Country
Spain
Region
Asturias
Re: External SCSI CDROM

I have a nice external mini tower scsi with all terminators and cables
The minitower have power supply and two units:
CDROM scsi ,plextor if not remember bad and CDRW
I can make photos this weekend
Regards
 

TheCorfiot

Out in the Wild
VIP
Rating - 100%
232   0   0
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Posts
8,698
Country
Greece
Region
Corfu
Re: External SCSI CDROM

Kin Hell said:
I might be able to help m8. I'm guessing the hazlenut eating SCSI device you acquired recently has a 25 pin SCSI port to lash up to. Yeah?

Kin

The Squirrels come standard with a captive lead to PCMCIA interface on one side & a 50Pin Centronics Male on the other.
Hope this is usefull

TC :wink:
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: External SCSI CDROM

@ TC

There lies the problem. The back of the Plextor Ext SCSI box is High Density 50way. I Don't think I have a 50 way HD to Centronics 50way tbh. Will check later!
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Re: External SCSI CDROM

@ r0jaws

I may have an old SCSI external enclosure (single I'm afraid) that housed an HP 9100i writer; I'm sure that enclosure had a SCSI>IDE interface inside it. Is this of any interest, as I only took the CD-RW drive itself out of the enclosure? I need to check what SCSI connector is on the back of it.

Is it of any interest before I go digging through my junkpile?
 

r0jaws

Mondeo Man
Rating - 100%
160   0   0
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Posts
7,237
Country
UK
Region
Lincolnshire
Re: External SCSI CDROM

Sure is chap, and thanks for all the replies guys! :mrgreen:

Does it have a 50Pin Centronics connection?

@AlicePPC, Thanks for the offer, put I'm not really after a SCSI Tower at the moment. Trying to keep my 1200 lean and mean. :D
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Re: External SCSI CDROM

@ r0jaws

Here's a picture of the rear of the unit; it's all SCSI inside... the connectors are 50 pin high density I believe.

[attachment=0:27zrbow9]IMAG0082.JPG[/attachment:27zrbow9]

Is this any use to you?
 

Attachments

  • IMAG0082.JPG
    IMAG0082.JPG
    7.8 KB · Views: 1

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: External SCSI CDROM

*cough*

Ain't this an out of control Post-fest! :?
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Re: External SCSI CDROM

All I need to to is find the PSU for that enclosure and we may have our first three-way Recycle Bin deal... :mrgreen:
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: External SCSI CDROM

/Kin puts both hands up as first poster....

Do I need to add mine is a an External Plextor 40 speed SCSI with the same connectors as Merl's but has the PSU inside?

I could also up the Anti & make it an External Plextor 8/20 SCSI Writer.....

/*cough* - Kin leaves to think of a suitable price which doesn't include ReCycle bin Price Policies.....
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Re: External SCSI CDROM

/Merlin warns Kinnie (and himself) for trying to turn this into an auction of stuff.... :roll:

Rules is rules, mate....

:LOL:
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: External SCSI CDROM

Speak for urself m8y....... :mrgreen:

/It's Friday!!......Kin wonders if Phil is @ Keiths place shoveling Curry like no tommorow & watching this thread whilst roaring with laughter.....
 

TheCorfiot

Out in the Wild
VIP
Rating - 100%
232   0   0
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Posts
8,698
Country
Greece
Region
Corfu
Re: External SCSI CDROM

Kin Hell said:
Speak for urself m8y....... :mrgreen:

/It's Friday!!......Kin wonders if Phil is @ Keiths place shoveling Curry like no tommorow & watching this thread whilst roaring with laughter.....

Apparently it's Beef Curry tonight, :)
I was invited but it's too far to go unfortunately.

TC :mrgreen:
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: External SCSI CDROM

Talk about "Staff Pwnage"....... :LOL:

Brilliant Example on "How Not to conduct yourself on AmiBay" if ever I saw one..... :roll: :| :mrgreen:
 

r0jaws

Mondeo Man
Rating - 100%
160   0   0
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Posts
7,237
Country
UK
Region
Lincolnshire
Re: External SCSI CDROM

It certainly was Beef curry night, and very nice it was too! :mrgreen:

Blimey, thanks for all the response chaps, I have to dash out to my nephews party in Norwich but when I get back I'll have a good old read through.

Behave yourselves,

Cheers muchly. :D
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Rating - 100%
137   0   0
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Re: External SCSI CDROM

@TC

always welcome my good friend,

@r0jaws

no why didnt you mention this when we were gawkin at dawn of war 2? bad bad r0jaws!!!

I have an absolute UBER amount of SCSI connectivity thanks to imnogeek, I am sure we can change any coupling to another :) infact. I think I may have enough to build an external SCSI chassis, from 2 - 12 bay :)

:)
 

r0jaws

Mondeo Man
Rating - 100%
160   0   0
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Posts
7,237
Country
UK
Region
Lincolnshire
Re: External SCSI CDROM

Zetr0 said:
@r0jaws

no why didnt you mention this when we were gawkin at dawn of war 2? bad bad r0jaws!!!
:)

drooolll! :mrgreen:

Sorry mate didn't even think to mention it!

@Adonay
Thanks for the cable offer but this would be to connect to the squirrel I just bought so not needed, thanks anyway. :)

@Merlin & Kin,
Guys, thanks for the offers, and the bother you've both gone too. Its a bit hard to decide without knowing how much so I'll give you both a PM.
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: External SCSI CDROM

I got so much on atm, I don't even know my own ass from my elbow! - & I still can't find the friggin Plec box ffs! :x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom