Format and Re'install WB3.1

Phil1978

AmiBayer
Country
UK.
Region
Rotherham' South Yorkshire.
First of all thanx to everyone who has helped me the last few day with all my amiga problems :)

Now lets get to it! My 1200 has an external HDD with workbench 3.0 installed on it but im wanting to format it and re'install WB3.1' As im new to amigas with hard drives i have no idea what im doin lol Im used to my old 500 and floppy disks....

In simple terms! What do i do????
Do i format it from within workbench???
Do i boot from workbench (floppy) ???

Cheers guys...

--------------------------------------------
Sometime i dont know how people put up with me :blink:

jvdbossc

HypnusBE
Country
Belgium
Region
Antwerp (province)
To put it simple: (the way I do it)

Use hdtoolbox from the install disk to partition the amiga, if it is a brand new hard disk you first need to read it's config, save it, autopartition 50/50% and save and reboot and then format it out of workbench.

Then install workbench..

If it's a large drive some other advice will be needed..

have fun(y)

Phil1978

AmiBayer
Country
UK.
Region
Its a pcmcia external hard drive (overdrive) iv got a picture of it on my profile page....

Ok iv booted up with the WB3.1 floppy' iv put in the install disk gone to HDTools / HDToolbox but its not sayin there is a hard drive there nothing there! :(

jvdbossc

HypnusBE
Country
Belgium
Region
Antwerp (province)
I don't understand why you use an external hd, since the laptop drives are easy to find second hand and rather cheap to:) Only a cable plus an ide laptop drive will make you happy..

But I never had such a unit in my gone smallboxes

http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/overdrivehd

The manual is in german, there is a disk file overthere, it clearly states the disk will do the stuff for you! (exept the formatting) So you'll only need to write the disk to a real flop..

3.1 - Vorbereitung der Festplatte