Found FOUND : Another looking to buy an A600

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nathanieltolbert

New member
Rating - 100%
62   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Posts
1,340
Country
United States
Region
Olathe, Kansas
Hello everyone, I'm back looking for retro Amiga hardware again... This time, I'm looking for an A600, because I like the look with the smaller size versus the A1200. If anyone is interested in selling one, Please let me know. I unfortunately will need either a power supply with it, if possible, or assistance in modifying an at/atx power supply. Thanks in advance for all the help.

Nathan
 

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Rating - 100%
190   0   0
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Posts
7,069
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC
Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Hi Nathan!

Good to see more people in the U.S. posting. I'm also looking for one but they seem kinda rare here in the States. I hope you are able to find one! If I find more than one, I'll let you know.

Take care,

Heather
 

shem

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Posts
88
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Machester
Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Re: Another looking to buy an A600

why is it that everyone is looking for A600 I much prefer the A500 or the 1200 but there is no keypad on the 600
 

Nathanieltolbert

New member
Rating - 100%
62   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Posts
1,340
Country
United States
Region
Olathe, Kansas
Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Well, I don't need a keypad really, and I like the small form factor design of the A600. I've wanted one since I started playing with Amiga computers again. They just seem to be uncommon in the US. I saw one on EBay, but seller wouldn't ship to the US. Amigakit had a motherboard, but I didn't jump on it when I should have. I'm kicking myself now though..

Nathan
 

shem

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Posts
88
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Machester
Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Re: Another looking to buy an A600

well i suppose it has got an pcmcia port and yes i guess you wont see many in the US as they were released in europe it was one of those bad decisions made by commodore you see at that time there A500+ was selling very well but comodore wanted to save 10 dollars per machine and decided to release the 600 they just about got the cost of development back when they decided to release the 1200 they lost direction by that time and confused the general public as most people didnt buy any machines because they wanted to see what gets released next on top of that pc's were finally getting cd roms and soundcards then before you knew it commodore went bust
 

zimgr5

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Feb 1, 2009
Posts
38
Country
now Germany
Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Re: Another looking to buy an A600

shem said:
why is it that everyone is looking for A600 I much prefer the A500 or the 1200 but there is no keypad on the 600

- IDE connector
- smaller size
- 1MB ram chip
- PCMCIA
- ECS
:mrgreen:
 

shem

New member
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Posts
88
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Machester
Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Re: Another looking to buy an A600

yes yes yes I am aware of the A600 spec but if you want ide pcmcia etc you might as well go for the 1200 it was a rhetorical question :D
 

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Rating - 100%
190   0   0
Joined
Dec 16, 2008
Posts
7,069
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC
Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Re: Another looking to buy an A600

I would like to get one because they are cute! :)

I actually want it more because I don't have one than for any other reason. I also think it is a neat design and will be fun to play with but there's no technical reason for me to get one. It is also the only All-in-One (non big box) Amiga that I don't have at this point.

Heather
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Rating - 100%
109   0   0
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Re: Another looking to buy an A600

I agree with Heather on this: the A600 is a nightmare to expand, it is severely limited (no AGA, no expanded keyboard, etc). But is cute.

My personal one is a PAL unit, 4Mb PCMCIA RAM (better than nothing), ROM 3.1, 2Gb HD. But I really love it. If my coffin will have pockets (or drawers, for that matter) I will take it with me. :)
 

Nathanieltolbert

New member
Rating - 100%
62   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Posts
1,340
Country
United States
Region
Olathe, Kansas
Found! An A600HD with tons of add ons.

Found! An A600HD with tons of add ons.

I found an A600HD from an estate sale online, and managed to win the auction. I am very happy ti finally have found one, even if it was off of evilbay. I guess this thread can be closed by the amdins?
 

TheCorfiot

Out in the Wild
VIP
Rating - 100%
232   0   0
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Posts
8,698
Country
Greece
Region
Corfu
Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Re: Another looking to buy an A600

Thanks for the update,

I'll close the thread for you

TC :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom