GBAPii GPU

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
Hi chaps, I built a GBAPii Zorro GPU but when I install the board I just get a red screen. Remove it and the Amiga works fine again.

Randomly it did boot into workbench once and I was able to reset and enter the early boot menu where a Zorro card was listed but then it froze and we're back to the red screen again. I've gone over my soldering and reflowed the cpld and citrus chip a few times but can't get it working so was hoping someone here who might've built one might have some advice?

I am trying to use this in a Denise (500+ itx form factor) board.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20231107_151624.jpg
    IMG_20231107_151624.jpg
    336 KB · Views: 28
  • IMG_20231107_151637.jpg
    IMG_20231107_151637.jpg
    105.1 KB · Views: 25

DjCook

8 Bit Dreams
Blogger
Joined
Apr 25, 2016
Posts
2,395
Country
Germany
Region
Bavaria
Did you installed the right 5V oscillator?
You will get weird errors with 3.3v one..

PS
Tinned edge connector may also be a source of some problems
 

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
Hi, thanks for the reply

So let me explain.

This card is for a friend, he bought the PCB online (I don't know where) but isn't skilled enough for the soldering so asked me to assemble it. As a thank you for assembling the card he ordered double the components and gave one set to me but said I'd need to provide my own pcb. I then ordered one from an eBay seller (green with gold contacts). I haven't fully assembled mine yet but have the ram, cirrus and cpld soldered down so plan to finish mine in the next day or so and test it too.

The parts were all ordered from mouser or digikey he tells me that he used the digikey part numbers from the bill of materials so all should be correct although I didn't order them so cannot verify this.

I didn't tin the contacts on his PCB either, that is how they were when it arrived but the card does feel loose in the Zorro slot so I was wondering if there may be contact issues
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20231108_120825.jpg
    IMG_20231108_120825.jpg
    327.2 KB · Views: 18

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
Ok, I shall check over the black card for shorts at the weekend when I have some more spare time.

In the mean time I finished building the second card today and programmed the cpld but again I have problems.

This one does not give me any coloured screen. The TV detects a signal (I am using an indivision with it) and shows me an 800x600@72hz screen but the miggy never boots, just sits there on the black screen.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20231108_204953.jpg
    IMG_20231108_204953.jpg
    440.3 KB · Views: 10
  • IMG_20231108_204618.jpg
    IMG_20231108_204618.jpg
    125 KB · Views: 9

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
So just a quick update to this. I spent some more time over the last week or two and have progressed a bit. After reflowing the cirrus and cpld of the green board I tried to reprogram the cpld again cause I was still getting a black screen and no boot but the cpld was no longer detected on the JTAG chain. I replaced the ldo regulator and cpld was once again detected, reflashed and now the card shows in the early start menu and in picasso96mode but it doesn't matter what resolution I try the Amiga freezes.

I'm new to this rtg stuff but I'm progressing slowly. Any tips appreciated :)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20231127_170204.jpg
    IMG_20231127_170204.jpg
    269.2 KB · Views: 8
  • IMG_20231127_170158.jpg
    IMG_20231127_170158.jpg
    236.2 KB · Views: 8
  • IMG_20231127_170043.jpg
    IMG_20231127_170043.jpg
    369.3 KB · Views: 8

DjCook

8 Bit Dreams
Blogger
Joined
Apr 25, 2016
Posts
2,395
Country
Germany
Region
Bavaria
You need to install it as Piccolo64 (it has same chip) then go to SYS:/Devs/Monitors and delete piccolo
 

Attachments

  • 17011112215704555083126137112458.jpg
    17011112215704555083126137112458.jpg
    221.1 KB · Views: 13

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
Thanks for the reply, i've put it away for tonight but will have another look tomorrow and try what you've suggested :)
 
Top Bottom