Greetings from Texas USA

Christacean

Country
United States
Region
TX
Hi y’all,
I’m just getting started again with my Commodore 128 that I last used around 1987-1988 when I needed a computer for my university physics and engineering courses. Then I got into gaming a bit too!
But then, sadly, it sat in a box until 2 months ago, when I got interested in resurrecting it, just to see if it still worked.
I bought an s-video cable and connected it to my older tv set, and yes, it works — so does my 1571 drive, and several games I still had in another box.
Nostalgia is a powerful force. Now I’m finding it really enjoyable getting it working even better than it did before.
Back in college days I was broke, had no money, so it was a miracle even affording the c128/1571 back then. I couldn’t afford much else, never got a monitor, just used the crappy rf adapter to an old TV set.
So here I am, getting back into this stuff again, and I’m looking forward to getting to know other folks doing new stuff with their 8-bit computers!

Watson

Forth Year Navvie
Staff member
Staff Moderator
Blogger
Country
England
Region
Nottingham
Welcome to Amibay!

I personally do not own any 8-bit machines in my collection anymore, although temptation has nearly got me a few times, but i must resist due to not having the room to accommodate.

steveed

Country
USA
Region
Austin, TX
If you are in Central Texas there is a very active commodore user group.

RetroNinja

Country
Las Vegas
Region
NV USA
If you like to hack a bit, you can upgrade the VDC to 64K. I believe you can buy the board or build it yourself.

Also look into the SD2IEC or Pi1541 upgrades. Mostly these come pre-assembled. These mods allow you to put a zillion games/apps on an SD card so they are all at your fingertips. Loading times are the same though, that's dependent on the disk drive IEC interface.