Hello from Toronto Canada

mike-d

Country
Canada
Region
Ontario
Hi everyone! I'm a software developer and got my start on Commodore machines so they have been a big part of my life. I had a 64 breadbin I got for Christmas when I was around 10 years old - I used that with a datasette and black and white tv for years until eventually getting a 1702 monitor and 1541 drive (so exciting!). I drooled over the c128 and then then Amiga 500 but no money, so eventually got an Amiga 2000 I saved up for during high school and used that right through University during Commodore's demise. I don't have any of my original machines or code that I wrote unfortunately but I've been collecting over the last 10 years or so, and have acquired a lot this year specifically. Wish I had done more a few years back though, prices have gotten so high for everything! I have a new to me c64 breadbin, 1702 monitor and 1541 drive, and 2 Amiga 2000's, one of which has some minor battery damage that I'm working on repairing and will eventually recap once I have it running. I also have a c128dcr with 1084 monitor (what a beautiful machine!), an Amiga 3000 & 4000 (both under battery leak repair), and a cdtv.

My intention was to get back into developing for the c64 and Amiga machines, but along the way I've actually gotten really interested in the hardware side of things. I've learned how to solder properly and more about electronics in general and acquired the tools I need and setup a workshop for myself. Youtube has been a great resource. I've completed some small projects already and currently have a bunch more projects on the go (including the 3 machine repairs) and am thoroughly enjoying it! I still plan on getting back into the software side of things soon. I'm planning to buy I few things I need to complete my repairs from here, possibly some upgrades as well, and I think the forums will be a great help when I do get back into some coding. It's so nice that a resource like Amibay exists!