Help needed with Apollo 1240 missing capacitor.

Amigafanboi

AmiBayer
Country
UK
Region
Dorset
This capacitor is missing on an apollo 1240@40 i picked up.

What value tantalum cap can i replace it with and be gentle...i have little or no electronics knowledge.

Attachments

• apollo1240.jpg
    apollo1240.jpg
    37.8 KB · Views: 1

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
This little capacitor is a 47uF x 16V unit. You can replace it with an ordinary though-hole counterpart. It is used to filter the power line.

So by any chance replace it with a tantalum unit! This kind of capacitor is not advisable for filtering power supplies.

The very low ESR of the tantalum units may cause a flash effect, ruining the accelerator.

More here.

Wikipedia said:
Higher cost than aluminum electrolytic capacitors. Voltage limited to about 50 volts. Explodes quite violently when voltage rating, current rating, or slew rates are exceeded, or when a polarized version is subjected to reverse voltage.

Slew rate refers to how quickly a capacitor has to go from charged to discharged state, or vice versa.

It's a fairly dangerous game, to replace them without knowing the hardware intimately, as you may unwillingly set yourself up for future fireworks and I would ask the question, if you're still going to replace the through hole ones with more through hole ones, then you will still have to change them the next time too.

I can't easily get the proper SMD types of tantalums, what I was going to suggest was to cut the legs short and bend them to form a U shape the size of the pad. Only thing with that is, if you accidently strike the capacitor, with an expansion board for instance, then you run the risk of ripping the SMD pads off the board.

stachu100

Country
Poland
Region
mazowieckie
@rkauer,

Sorry to say, but some inormations in Wikipedia are not correct!
Don't trust Wikipedia too much.