Jimbo1979 A1200

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
Hi all,
as you may or may not know Jimbo1979 and I are in a deal for a 360 and a A1200.
So the world famous Ferrari A1200 is going to a new home but not as a Ferrari:) Jimbo1979 wanted a plain case and keyboard so here is the progress so far.......

we just need the expansion card to arrive, here are some pics, enjoy

cheers, JuvUK
 

Attachments

  • 1200 rear.jpg
    1200 rear.jpg
    201.1 KB · Views: 0
  • 1200 shield.jpg
    1200 shield.jpg
    126 KB · Views: 1
  • 1200 motherboard.jpg
    1200 motherboard.jpg
    162.3 KB · Views: 0
  • 1200 ports.jpg
    1200 ports.jpg
    99.4 KB · Views: 0
  • 1200 floppy.jpg
    1200 floppy.jpg
    192.4 KB · Views: 0
  • 1200 power cable.jpg
    1200 power cable.jpg
    204.9 KB · Views: 0
  • 1200 buffered ide.jpg
    1200 buffered ide.jpg
    180.6 KB · Views: 1
  • 1200 cd.jpg
    1200 cd.jpg
    185.1 KB · Views: 0
  • 1200 slot.jpg
    1200 slot.jpg
    119 KB · Views: 1

TheCorfiot

Out in the Wild
VIP
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Posts
8,698
Country
Greece
Region
Corfu
Nice build Juzzer, I certainly like the routing of the IDE cables (y)

TC :)
 

DaZZaBoY

OldskoOler
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
384
Country
England
Region
South Cumbria
Looks sweeeeet! (y)

Like the 2.5" HDD and it still surprises me how the hell we used to cram a 3.5" unit into the standard A1200 case and screw it shut?? Pure madness :blink:
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
@Dazz: I prepared an A1200 with a full-sized 3.5" HD and some other bits to a Brazilian guy a few months ago.

The full monty: 20Gb 3.5" HD, custom made IDE cable, Microbotics RAM expansion, WB 3.1 (Classic Workbench ADVSP), 4/8Mb RAM size selector, Retr0bright and ATX PSU inside the original brick (no spare molex, as he wished).

Never had a complain after the computer reach his hands. :)
 

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
some more pics from Jimbo's A1200, this time workbench, some cd working shots, and a few of the A1200 booting directly from CD32 discs, oh and a whdload, the subwar shots are the CD32 version running from cd :)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3891.jpg
    IMG_3891.jpg
    107.2 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_3888.jpg
    IMG_3888.jpg
    94.6 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_3887.jpg
    IMG_3887.jpg
    138.6 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_3886.JPG
    IMG_3886.JPG
    64.1 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_3885.jpg
    IMG_3885.jpg
    125.9 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_3884.jpg
    IMG_3884.jpg
    133.6 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_3883.jpg
    IMG_3883.jpg
    97.4 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_3882.JPG
    IMG_3882.JPG
    129.9 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_3881.jpg
    IMG_3881.jpg
    130.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_3890.jpg
    IMG_3890.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 1

Witcher1979

New member
Banned
Joined
May 30, 2010
Posts
2,389
Country
Westleton, Suffolk, UK
Region
Suffolk
Tease pictures :) Looking wicked m8. Could you bung the pictures in an email for me please? Want to keep the whole photo process as it goes together. Whats that cd32 emu? Don't think I have ever come across that. I figured you booted them from workbench, my memory isnt that great anymore, long time ago since I had a real miggy. Nice update and thanks.
 

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
Tease pictures :) Looking wicked m8. Could you bung the pictures in an email for me please? Want to keep the whole photo process as it goes together. Whats that cd32 emu? Don't think I have ever come across that. I figured you booted them from workbench, my memory isnt that great anymore, long time ago since I had a real miggy. Nice update and thanks.


no worries bud, it's the CD32 emulator that comes with idefix '97, just insert your CD32 game into the CD drive, reboot, as it's rebooting press F10, then boot, and away it goes :)

email on it's way(y) scrap that, email sent
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
I still think the Surf Squirrel "emulation" is a bit better than IDEFix one. But both works.
 

Witcher1979

New member
Banned
Joined
May 30, 2010
Posts
2,389
Country
Westleton, Suffolk, UK
Region
Suffolk
Tease pictures :) Looking wicked m8. Could you bung the pictures in an email for me please? Want to keep the whole photo process as it goes together. Whats that cd32 emu? Don't think I have ever come across that. I figured you booted them from workbench, my memory isnt that great anymore, long time ago since I had a real miggy. Nice update and thanks.


no worries bud, it's the CD32 emulator that comes with idefix '97, just insert your CD32 game into the CD drive, reboot, as it's rebooting press F10, then boot, and away it goes :)

email on it's way(y) scrap that, email sent

Ah I never even knew that, what a great way to boot cd32 stuff, thanks for the info/email.
 

moijk

Licence to fish
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Posts
2,411
Country
Norway
Region
Grimstad
I still think the Surf Squirrel "emulation" is a bit better than IDEFix one. But both works.

Just a quickie,

Soo, if I get idefix and a a1200 I can run most everything beside wing commander of the cd32 stuff? And use the extra buttons? Looks like the trusty cd32 might end up in other hands if so, because I'm in the marked for an a1200.
 

TheCorfiot

Out in the Wild
VIP
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Posts
8,698
Country
Greece
Region
Corfu
I still think the Surf Squirrel "emulation" is a bit better than IDEFix one. But both works.


Indeed the squirrel emulator has much higher compatibility but can be a bitch to configure regarding CD ROM-spin up times....;)

But both indeed do work very well indeed

TC :)
 
Top Bottom