Just got my first Amiga (sorta), and have questions!

WhyreByter

AmiBayer
Country
USA
Region
Washington State
First, I'm the proud new owner of Optiguy's A1200 setup. I owned a 500 for a few weeks in 1988, but other than that, I've got no experience with Amigas... So, I've got some (possibly simple) questions:

1. It's got a CF in it, and boots to it. When I do that, the floppy will continuously seek (click). Putting a disk in it makes it shut up. Is this normal? Any way to make it not do that?

2. There's no disk activity light for the CF HD. Any way to make that happen?

3. It's got an Indivision AGA, with firmware v1.5, from Jul '09. I'd love a manual for it, but can't find one on the web. Any suggestions where to get one? Also, ditto for firmware updates. The "support" web page is somewhat lacking on that device.

I'll have more, to be sure, but these should get me started. Thanks in advance!

ajk

AmiBayer
Country
Finland
Region
Helsinki
1. The clicking is normal, it's related to how the system detects disk insertion. There are utilities on Aminet that can quiet it down (search for "noclick" or similar).

2. Possibly, you'll need to connect the appropriate signal from the CF adapter. Depends largely on the adapter in question though so it's hard to give any exact instructions.

3. You could email Individual Computers directly.

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
@WhyerByter

Congrats on your purchase, the A1200 is great choice (y)

As ajk says you can find apps on Aminet to stop the drive clicking but I'm not sure it works on all drives, you'll have to try them. I think another app is called 'anticlick'