Loading Workbench 1.3 from a Tesco own brand Rich Tea biscuit!

Aysel

New member
Joined
Apr 24, 2014
Posts
1,259
Country
England
Region
Mansfield
So, after a lot of experimentation I have finally managed to get Workbench 1.3 to boot from a Rich Tea biscuit.... I tried using a hob nob as they tend to be stronger but the profile was not quite right to get them in a stock Chinon drive.

I have done a quick video to demonstrate Workbench loading, had to delete a few files as Rich Teas only format to 700k but it boots to the desktop fine :D

Avoid using Chocolate Digestives, chocolate melts once drive spins up and makes a mess of read heads.

https://youtu.be/DOapQ3T_9cI
 
Last edited:

Ed.D

Active member
Blogger
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Posts
1,543
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Bristol
Lol, nutcase! :LOL: So if I wanted double density media should I use a custard cream?
 

Aysel

New member
Joined
Apr 24, 2014
Posts
1,259
Country
England
Region
Mansfield
Yes but you would have to use Nibble copy when transferring data :LOL:
 

woodycool

Amiga enthusiast!
Joined
Oct 20, 2008
Posts
1,671
Country
Northampton, UK
Region
Northamptonshire, UK
I'm told that the Foxes Buscwuits are the best quality media to use for this.
However, whatever you do, don't dunk the buscuit before you use it, otherwise the data will get soggy.
 

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
you're all fools, everyone knows that digestives are THE biscuit when it comes to stuff like this :)
 
Last edited:

supaduper

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Posts
5,398
Country
England
Region
west midlands
My American mate only uses branded cookies in his miggy 1000 and said he aint had a bad un yet
 

Starglider

Retro YouTuber
Joined
Apr 4, 2014
Posts
672
Country
US&A
Region
CA
I'm told that the Foxes Buscwuits are the best quality media to use for this.
However, whatever you do, don't dunk the buscuit before you use it, otherwise the data will get soggy.
Actually you're wrong, all the discuits should be dunked before use to make them floppy.
 

woodycool

Amiga enthusiast!
Joined
Oct 20, 2008
Posts
1,671
Country
Northampton, UK
Region
Northamptonshire, UK
I'm told that the Foxes Buscwuits are the best quality media to use for this.
However, whatever you do, don't dunk the buscuit before you use it, otherwise the data will get soggy.
Actually you're wrong, all the discuits should be dunked before use to make them floppy.
But the data will get soggy, surely!
 

Bryce

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Aug 21, 2012
Posts
2,586
Country
Germany
Region
Nordrhein Westfalen
That really "takes the biscuit"! I've given it a go with a German Amiga, but I got a language error. As soon as I swapped to "Prinzen Rolle" it worked a treat. German users - Remember to part both sides of the biscuit carefully and remove all traces of chocolate before formatting! Any small child can perform this step of the process with ease, a skill that is unfortunately lost as one gets older.

Bryce.
 
Top Bottom