Make and Model of CF card

Harrison

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Posts
10,153
Country
UK
Region
West Sussex
I would like to ask what makes and model of CF Memory cards have you all used successfully with the Amiga as a replacement for a HDD?

And also what makes and models have you had problems with, or won't work as all, and why?

The hope is to try and create a list of known good and bad cards as a buyers guide.
 

salaxi54

Incoming ASROC!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Apr 3, 2009
Posts
3,864
Country
GREECE
Region
Athens
I've a Kingston 1GB CF working swell on my A600 lappie's default IDE port with an IDE2CF adapter.
It's this one: http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/flashmemory-store_2102_19736992
Having Wb 3.1 (running with a Viper 630). Here's a shot of it in my config:

CF2IDE1.jpg
 

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
i've used Genuine Sandisk 1Gb, 2Gb & 4Gb cards and Genuine Kingston 1Gb & 2Gb and they've all functioned perfectly. I also bought some 4Gb unbranded ones from china and they worked fine too.
 

mfilos

Extr3m3ly l33t
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Posts
2,424
Country
Greece
Region
Glyfada/Athens
There is a similar sticky post over EAB for some years isn't it?
Anyway...

I've used
- 256MB Sandisk (classic blue/red design)
- 1GB Sandisk (classic blue/red design)
- 4GB Transcend 133x (orange design)
- 16GB Transcend 133x (orange design)

All work like a charm
 

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
20,001
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
Hi ive used 256 and 1gb sandisk 2gb verbatim, 2.5 and 4gb microdrives think theyre seagate brand.

Steve.
Mozilla/5.0 (SymbianOS/9.2; U; Series60/3.1 NokiaN95/21.0.016; Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 ) AppleWebKit/413 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/413
 

Tajmaster

Truth, Justice, all that stuff.
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Posts
5,289
Country
UK
Region
Bradford, West Yorkshire
I personally have used Kingston and DaneElec on mine without issue :)
 

Harrison

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Posts
10,153
Country
UK
Region
West Sussex
So, everyone posted so far have had good results with all cards tried. I've read in the past of people having problems with Kingston cards, but you all have been reporting them working fine.
 

drbrain

Member
Banned
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Posts
599
Country
Sweden
Region
Helsingborg
Sandisk Ultra II 4GB working fine with $2-adaptor from *bay in an A1200.
 

Harrison

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Posts
10,153
Country
UK
Region
West Sussex
A summary of cards so far reported to work successfully with Amigas:

  • Canon 32MB
  • DaneElec 4GB
  • Kingston 1GB & 2GB
  • Sandisk 256MB, 1GB , 2GB, 4GB, Ultra II 4GB
  • Sandisk 256MB and 1GB (classic blue/red design)
  • Seagate 2.5GB and 4GB microdrives
  • Verbatim 2GB
  • Transcend 133x 4GB and 16GB (orange design)
 
Last edited:

Tajmaster

Truth, Justice, all that stuff.
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Posts
5,289
Country
UK
Region
Bradford, West Yorkshire
A summary of cards so far reported to work successfully with Amigas:

  • DaneElec (size?)
  • Kingston 1GB & 2GB
  • Sandisk 256MB, 1GB , 2GB, 4GB, Ultra II 4GB
  • Sandisk 256MB and 1GB (classic blue/red design)
  • Seagate 2.5GB and 4GB microdrives
  • Verbatim 2GB
  • Transcend 133x 4GB and 16GB (orange design)

My cards are both 4GB (y)
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,091
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
I've used genuine Sandisk 1GB cards without any problems.

Small Kingstons as well.

I've tried a Kodak 4GB and it was a definate no go (n)

Dave G :cool:
 

Harrison

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Posts
10,153
Country
UK
Region
West Sussex
Do you know the exact model of Kodak card that wouldn't work? This is the first report of one failing.
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,091
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
@Harrison

My old brain is getting too old :oops:

I thought that my old Kodak camera had a Kodak card in it that I had tried to format in my IDE/CF backplate and had failed. So it was left in my camera and forgotten about.

But in fact it's a 128MB LEXAR Media 8* CF card. Aplogies for the confusion.

I had a few Iomega 64MB CFs of Nyle a while ago and these worked without fault.

SanDisk 1GB works as well.

SanDisk Ultra 2 4GB works as well.

Dave G :cool:
 

JiggyMF

New member
AmiBayer
Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Posts
203
Country
the Netherlands
Region
Breda area
Sandisk Ultra II 4 Gb (15 mb/s)
Sandisk Ultra 4 Gb (30 mb/s, new type)

All flawlessly in several A1200's with several types of CF2IDE adapters.
 

Yod@

New member
AmiBayer
Joined
Feb 28, 2010
Posts
33
Country
northern ireland
Region
County Down
I've used 3 or 4 of the standard 4Gb Kingston CF cards - only issue is that they don't generally appear to cold boot very well, usually you'll need a warm reset to boot.

I've also used 2 of the 4Gb Kingston Elite Pro CF cards, these did boot from cold on all 4 A1200s that I used them on.

For what it's worth, I'm also using CF to IDE adapters like the one in the pic I've attached, the hard disk light also works on the A1200s without any need for modding. It seems to be advertised on eBay as "Compact Flash CF to 3.5" IDE 39 Pin Adapter".
 

Attachments

  • CFtoIDE.jpg
    CFtoIDE.jpg
    38.5 KB · Views: 0

mjnurney

we live as we dream. Alone.
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Posts
9,473
Country
england
Region
Milton Keynes
okay my 2 pennies worth lol... (dave G):)

Kingston 4gb - okay on ide
Kingston 2GB - okay on pcmcia not ide
kingston 2gb - okay on ide but died after 2 weeks (with my os 3.9 on!!)
Fuji 2gb - ok on pcmcia (fat) not test on ide yet
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,091
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs

HonestFlames

New member
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Posts
346
Country
England
Region
Shropshire
This would be a shorter thread if we posted about only the ones that didn't work!

SanDisk, I maintain, are the be-all and end-all of quality flash memory product suppliers. Kingston are perhaps hit & miss. Transcend I've never heard a bad word about, but SanDisk have had more glowing reviews (that I've seen) than Transcend. Kodak are a re-badge (though I can't remember who the OEM is).

I've got a SanDisk microSD (2GB), 1GB SD (Extreme 3, think), 8GB SD, 2 x 16GB Cruzer USB drives (one in the Xbox, one for PC stuff), a 2GB CF (Amiga PCMCIA) and 4GB CF (Amiga IDE).

The 8GB SD wasn't really comfortable maintaining a bootable Linux install, but this may have been because I made a mis-step in setting it up. It's never caused me any other grief.

The CF's in the Amiga have been totally flawless.
 
Top Bottom