Mediator PCI 4000D and Indivision AGA 4000D/CD32

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Will it fit?

Between the busboard and the motherboard it's quite crammed.

I guestimate that there is about 5mm clearing between the top of the RAM chips and the busboard.

What about heat?

What AGA Zorro scandoublers/flickerfixers are there?
 

jvdbossc

HypnusBE
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Posts
3,326
Country
Belgium
Region
Antwerp (province)
Arnljot,

Have exactly that config, there is a thread somewhere about it, it leaves almost no mm, without taking extra steps, when running in highcolor, higres modes the max the machine runs is 15 minutes, after that it did not work in anymore..

My "fix" was a fan hotglued on the motherboard, next to the cards to create the needed airflow, together with the restister fix it gives trouble free operation in highfx, highcolor(y)

It was also confirmed by Jens that it could have heating issues, because of the 5 v mach chips he told me..
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Can you provide pics so that I get an idea of what it's like? Fan placement etc.

Also, I read in Heathers Indivision thread that TC said that the resistor fix isn't mandatory.

But can it degrade performance in a A4000 which doesn't have problems to begin with?

I'm considering asking AmigaKit to preemtivly add the fix if I buy an Indivision from them.

Where did you buy the fans?
 

jvdbossc

HypnusBE
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Posts
3,326
Country
Belgium
Region
Antwerp (province)
I would not do the resistorfix if you have no problems of course. For me it was needed.

---------- Post added at 12:00 ---------- Previous post was at 11:59 ----------

Looking for pics, the fan is just an old fan from an old computer..
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Problem for me is that I haven't bought an Indivision yet, so I don't know if it's needed :)

Chicken and egg? Catch 22? Don't know if they are appropriate for my situation, but I'm not sure what to do.

Does anyone have a picture of the A4000 Indivision fix?

Also, what footprint width x width fans did you use, and how high were they?
 

jvdbossc

HypnusBE
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Posts
3,326
Country
Belgium
Region
Antwerp (province)
If you turn the brightness of your monitor a little open you can see it here

http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/4281/jvb4419.jpg

http://img31.imageshack.us/img31/7213/jvb4420.jpg

The fan is not glued completely horizontal, I am not an engineer, but I guessed that would create a little bounce back effect on the bus board to cool the aga chip better. (but hey don't know that for sure)

---------- Post added at 12:10 ---------- Previous post was at 12:04 ----------

You could alway's send Jens an email, he is very supportive...

I don't know much about the resistorfix, I just carried it out and know it is "official" for some A4000 revisions chips, but better check that with Jens..

The airflow is not that official, can only share my experience..
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Ah!

You have the Mediator PCI 4000Di, I have the Mediator PCI 4000D

The difference is that while your busboard is vertical to the motherboard, like in a normal A4000D computer, mine is parallell to the motherboard, for mounting in a Tower.

So there is hardly any room between the motherboard and the busboard. You can barely get a finger in there. Certainly not a thumb I think :)

So a fan mounting like that in my Amiga is completely out of the question. :-D
 

jvdbossc

HypnusBE
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Posts
3,326
Country
Belgium
Region
Antwerp (province)
I have less space then that to be honest..

I would create some airflow, that's all, in any way..
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
I think your setup looks really great! :)

Now, I just need to find out if anyone has the towered mediator + indivision...

---------- Post added at 12:56 ---------- Previous post was at 12:55 ----------

and if I should have the mod applied as a precaution...
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Tbh Arnljot, you might be better off using the Video Slot off the PCI 4000D. You could use a PIV or Arxon kind of solution. ;)

Charlie
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Yes, but with three Amiga 4000s, I'd find somewhere to put it ;) :D

Now, what I need to know now is if I should have AmigaKit apply the resistor fix before they ship it to me or not?

cheers.
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
So your reccomendation is to order one with the fix. And no worries and life on easy street?
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
I can't promise that Arnljot. I haven't had the pleasure. ;)

What I do know about the mod is this.
The Resistor mod effectively up's the voltage a tad, thereby getting rid of the graphic glitches on the display.

There was also some mention RE: HP versions of the chip used on the mobo's with regard to fit.

If you're set on having an Indivision & the mod is part of the service, I'd have it done anyways. :)

Charlie
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
I'ev orderd one now with the resistor fix. Now lets see how this pans out, thoug - first AmigaKit needs to receive their new stock of Indivisions next wednesday first! :)
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Good stuff. Are you still following through with the Compuserv FF/SD too?

Charlie
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
It wasn't for sale anymore as it was sold. Just received a PM from the seller, I pm'ed him as I hoped it would trigger an email in his mailbox and some action.

It did, just not the wanted outcome :)
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Okies dokies, it's here. Well, it's been at the post office since almost a week before easter. But due to various not so fun reasons I haven't picked it up until today, and then there was easter too, which was fun.

AmiKit has professionally added the hack to the Indivision A4000D AGA.

Here is the huge pr0n version.


 

Attachments

  • IMG_6247-large.JPG
    IMG_6247-large.JPG
    90.8 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

RedDaemonFox

Amiga's enemy is my enemy!
AmiBayer
Joined
May 10, 2009
Posts
737
Country
United States of Hell
Region
Melbourne, FL 32901
whoa arnljot, thats a HUGE photo. Anyways, good luck my friend, sounds very cool, but all i have is a 3000D for now, maybe a 4000 later on down the road?
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
LOL, thanks I guess ;)

If the mods prefere there is this version


But on the otherhand this forum has a auto resize functionality.
 
Top Bottom