monitor woes

PymerOne

Noob pur sang
AmiBayer
Country
Netherlands, Europe
Region
NoordHolland, Far side of civilisation's border.
Dear All,

A friend had a loose db9 on his 1084s, i dropped a working 1084s there and took the defective one home.
Although i am usually the first to shout: "monitor contains lethal elec-tricks, dont mess with that" i just had to try...
Opened it, saw all pins (and supports) of db9 make just accidental contact with their solderblobs.
Cured that safely and carefully....eazy.
Now when i test the monitor it holds a steady, sharp and bright picture for 3 seconds and then it starts rolling.
Switch it off for 10 seconds, after 3 seconds of perfectness same error.
Any clues on what part of the monitormainboard i can focus on (within safety limits)?

Grtz, PymerOne.

gehtjanx

Banned
Country
Austria
Region
Vienna
Hello,

Connectors should be safe to solder in monitors, no problem.

Sadly, I'm no monitor expert. But I know that scrolling if the frequency (kHz?) is not right. On SX64 there is a screw/adjustment (outside) where you can set it up. If you set it wrong, picture will be rolling, think that is the same effect you want to discribe.

So can be possible set it up from outside or inside with a screw/adjustment.

Also check the other switches or adjustment screws that are visible from outside, cound be a bad contact???

Also don't hook up other devices, had a 1081 where you can only have one signal at one time, while 1084 can switch between two signals. :blink:

Don't know, but that what I can tell about, hope it helps, if not, please don't throw things after me ;)

gehtjanx

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Bad soldering/trace on the synchronizing circuit. It comes from the Vertical+Horizontal or Composite sync pin to a chip.

Pending on the 1084 model (Phillips or Daewoo) I can lend you the schematic to search for the trace and route a wire from one point to another.