My Desktop Computer

Amiga Forever

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Posts
7,359
Country
UK
Region
Yorkshire
This is first time since 2005 that I have Desktop computer. I have open the big tower(bigger than my old tower of 2005!) and had good look at the small motherboard. I have notice that the ram is just next to CPU! The graphics card is also next to it if I buy Graphics card for it.

Click the picture as then you can zoom it :)

My Tower and it is massive!

IMG_0813.jpg

CPU is close to the RAM and also GPU(Graphics card if I going put in!)
IMG_0810.jpg

Good Close up of CPU

IMG_0811.jpg

For Hard drive and SSD Hard drive which I will put in later!
IMG_0812.jpg

Back of the Tower and you may notice that there is HDMI which back year 2005 as I didnt that.
IMG_0814.jpg

I need to get Gaming monitor next :D
 
Last edited:

Amiga Forever

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Posts
7,359
Country
UK
Region
Yorkshire
You know SSD Hard drive and I have notice there are 2 black SATA and also 3 Yellow SATA.

Which one do I plug in to? Black or yellow or it doesnt matter?
 

RichyV

A4000 lives once more! A1200 bits are going...
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Feb 5, 2013
Posts
1,171
Country
UK
Region
Gloucestershire
Either. But the motherboard's manual will tell you which are connected to the internal Intel chipset and which are controlled by the 3rd party chip. Intel is usually the preferred option here as they tend to be slightly faster.
The second scenario, of course, could be that the colours are to show the fact that some are SATA2 and some are SATA3 - then you'd definitely want to use the SATA3 connectivity for the SSD.

Really need to take a look at the manual, either way.
 
Last edited:

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,984
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
Looks great, good luck with the project :)
 

Amiga Forever

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Posts
7,359
Country
UK
Region
Yorkshire
Thanks fitzsteve:)

Hey
RichyV

I have checked the manual and it say

Black SATA is SATA ATA 3GB/S

Yellow SATA is SATA ATA 6GB/S

So the answer is Black Sata for SSD Hard drive....is that correct?:unsure:
 

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
Connect your ssd to the yellow ports and CD/DVD drives to the black ones. 3GB/s is SataII and 6gb/s is SataIII
 

Amiga Forever

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Posts
7,359
Country
UK
Region
Yorkshire
Thanks scrappysphinx :)

I got the computer up and running. I went control panel and check device. I have notice that I dont have wireless WI FI

So I need get Wireless WI FI or would USB Wireless WI FI any good?

Just need download Driver on memory stick then port to my new computer!

The new pc is quiet which is nice even thought if I did get beefy graphics card then it going be noisey! LOL


 

Bryce

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Aug 21, 2012
Posts
2,586
Country
Germany
Region
Nordrhein Westfalen
USB Wireless are fine. They avoid using up a PCI slot and in an emergency you can pull it at any time to immediately go offline.

RAM should be as close to the CPU as possible. It is one of the highest frequency buses outside the CPU, so you want to keep the PCB tracks as short as possible, otherwise you'll have an EMC nightmare on your hands.

Bryce.
 

Amiga Forever

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Posts
7,359
Country
UK
Region
Yorkshire
EMC?

It is electronic Medicines Compendium (eMC)?

I havnt got clue what this is.

I will have look at USB Wireless tomorrow when I am in town like maplin or somethings like that.

I having trouble finding B85M-G Driver for my motherboard on internet..... does anyone know where find honest website for it?
 
Last edited:

Simon_G

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
May 20, 2011
Posts
1,005
Country
United Kingdom
Region
London
You can get the drivers from Asus website. They are there. Also I had a 3 fan gigabyte windforce gfx 760 card in that PC and even under load I could not hear it. Half the reason why I purchased the case in the first place to be honest.
 
Last edited:

johnim

New member
VIP
Joined
May 18, 2010
Posts
13,051
Country
England
Region
birmingham
Hi AF that case is 1 of the small cases
nice system have fun with it

There has been loads of advances in pc parts over the last 10 years
 

Amiga Forever

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Posts
7,359
Country
UK
Region
Yorkshire
It been heavy Snow this morning :eek:

For gaming monitor I would get either Acer 24 inches(even thought it doesnt have sound built in!) or AOC monitors as both are same size and respond times 1m!

or

see if you think of good monitors that have slimair(mean nearly the same) as above.

Graphics card? Not low end or High End and I want somethings more of Mid range and bit more if anyone know. Low watts would be good for eletric bills :D

My PSU is 650 Watts
 
Last edited:

johnim

New member
VIP
Joined
May 18, 2010
Posts
13,051
Country
England
Region
birmingham
Hi the 970 is the best at the moment and low power 145w fitsteve has 1 justin too and I have 2 of them

Have a look the msi version is nice and the fans dont start untill the temperatures get over 60c so quiet too
 

Bryce

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Aug 21, 2012
Posts
2,586
Country
Germany
Region
Nordrhein Westfalen

Amiga Forever

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Posts
7,359
Country
UK
Region
Yorkshire
Hey John,

Still Heavy Snow that keep going and might well order pc things online! thanks to internet! :)

I check the pricerunner.co.uk and Novtech come cheapest £289 for MSI Geforce 970

Might well get USB WI FI from Amazon as they only £1.99 or somethings

Thanks for links Bryce :)
 

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,984
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
The MSI one is £283 on eBuyer:

http://www.ebuyer.com/663848-msi-gt...ium=products&gclid=CNaqxo2tpcMCFSjLtAodsUoAXw

And they have the EVGA one that I have:

http://www.ebuyer.com/666210-evga-g...ium=products&gclid=CJGt7cOspcMCFczMtAodtDoAfA

Looks like I got a pretty decent deal, I got mine on a Black Friday sale for £250 :)

There's a cheaper one:

http://www.scan.co.uk/products/4gb-...m_medium=cpc&gclid=CPuExfSspcMCFcfItAodkG8AJg

Not sure how it compares, I have had a Zotec GTX260 for about 5 years and it still works great today!
 
Last edited:

Amiga Forever

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Posts
7,359
Country
UK
Region
Yorkshire
Thanks guys:) I have seen the boxed pc case and it say PCI Slot is 320mm and should fit in no problem :)
 
Last edited:

Amiga Forever

Well-known member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Nov 11, 2010
Posts
7,359
Country
UK
Region
Yorkshire
Just bought new WD 1TB Hard drive and Windows 8.1(I going to have get used to it because I am new to it!)
 
Top Bottom