Need help with a PC case....

Murugan

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Posts
484
Country
Belgium
Region
Vlaams-Brabant
Feeling kinda stupid here....
A while ago I acquired this Commodore 486. I need to open the case because the CMOS battery is (near) dead and I need to find out which type it is. I really want to save this one.
Only problem: I can't open it :)
I have experience in these matters but this case shows no apparent screws so I need help :please:
It'll be probably a stupid thing but I can't seem to get any movement in it and I'm afraid to break or bend something.

2ut0px1.jpg

64kv29.jpg
 

DutchinUSA

New member
AmiBayer
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Posts
1,297
Country
Unites States
Region
Wisconsin
I would remove that screw in the back .. middle .. just to be sure. Then I would smack it with both my hands on the side of the case sliding/smacking the case forward :D

Totally at your own risk of course .. but that's what I would do (y)

I don't remember ever opening one of these puppies.
 

Murugan

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Posts
484
Country
Belgium
Region
Vlaams-Brabant
I tried removing that screw but so far no luck. I'm guessing it's a bit tight after all these years. I don't even know if it slides off or if I have to lift the shell.
I'll wait for some more advice before slapping this PC hehe.
 

DutchinUSA

New member
AmiBayer
Joined
Feb 15, 2012
Posts
1,297
Country
Unites States
Region
Wisconsin
Course, try carefully pushing first but I have found that once these haven't been opened for a while they're kind of stuck and need a little bit of "help" :)
 

Murugan

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Posts
484
Country
Belgium
Region
Vlaams-Brabant
Hmmm I'll go give it another try but sliding the case to the rear seems to do nothing :( I know pretty sure it slides off to the rear because to the front, the front panel is blocking it.
Seems really stuck.
 

Murugan

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Posts
484
Country
Belgium
Region
Vlaams-Brabant
Didn't check all the pictures...I'm piling up the f***-ups today hehe.
But hey, the case opened like you guys said. Thanks!!!!
Now to tackle the CMOS bit...seems at first sight that it's a Dallas type chip.
*EDIT* it's a Timekeeper MK48T87B24

Any ideas for pimping this baby when I get it 100% working?
At this point it's kinda vanilla with 8MB RAM, 240MB HD and onboard?? VGA.
 
Last edited:

Ed.D

Active member
Blogger
Joined
Aug 21, 2010
Posts
1,543
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Bristol
You'd have to check what addons/upgrades would work with that system and if the OS you choose will also support them. I s'pose it depends on what you want to do with it really. After sorting the electrical bits I think I would have a go at Retro-brighting the front panels, if it were mine. :)

Good luck (y)
 

Murugan

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Posts
484
Country
Belgium
Region
Vlaams-Brabant
The CMOS chip is soldered to the board. I hoped it was a socketed one. Seems I need the help of a skilled solderer now first damn.
 
Top Bottom