Need help with my Dreambox

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
My DM800HD SE (I think its a clone) was fine until yesterday. Now its dead. No lights, no display on the front panel, the fan is dead. No life.

I tried removing power and leaving it off overnight. Tried plugging/unplugging lots of times, tested the PSU, tried another PSU but nothing.

I opened it and tried it with the HDD removed and still dead.

If i connect it to my computer with the service/miniusb/serial thingy to my PC the computer finds it but then the software DreamUP tells me to switch it on but it wont switch on.

Any idea what could be wrong ?
 

roy_bates

resistance is futile!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Posts
8,387
Country
england
Region
birmingham
dont know nothing about the item your talking about,but ill try...

does the system have a soft start button on the unit?
maybe the circuit for it is duff.
what power supply does it use?
 

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
Its got a power switch at the back and a soft power on/off button on the front - When given power its supposed to start up right away

It uses a 12V power supply. Tested with my DMM and its at around 12.38v. Also tried another power supply same specs.

dont know nothing about the item your talking about,but ill try...

does the system have a soft start button on the unit?
maybe the circuit for it is duff.
what power supply does it use?
 

roy_bates

resistance is futile!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Posts
8,387
Country
england
Region
birmingham
could be the soft start circuit then if your lucky...or the switchmode supply inside the unit if it has one that runs off the 12 unit

its basically a flip flop,like the press to start button on pc's to turn it on
 

roy_bates

resistance is futile!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Posts
8,387
Country
england
Region
birmingham
if the other threads are anything to go by,then it has a resettable fuse inside it somewhere.

easy fix if it is..
 

Sardine

Well-known member
Staff member
Staff Moderator
Blogger
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Posts
11,935
Country
England
Region
Merseyside
thats what I read,,, it's supposed to reset itself after a length of time unplugged but some stick open circuit.
 

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
I've tried leaving it completely disconnected overnight but it wouldn't come back to life.

The only sign of life is the serial connection / usb thingy as the PC detects it but thats it. I give up, it may be only 2 years old but not worth the hassle.

Just ordered a new VU + Solo to replace it.
 
Top Bottom