Newbie, interested in Amigas again!

Dash

AmiBayer
Country
UK
Region
Berkshire
Hi folks. Another newbie here.

I recently sold all my Amiga stuff. :( It had been sat up in the loft for years. And even that stuff wasn't the original stuff I owned when I was a kid. It was just stuff I bought a few years ago for nostalgia reasons, but then never actually made any use of, as space in our house is a bit sparse and I didn't really have anywhere to set up the kit.

Like most folks, I suppose, I was very into Amigas in my teens... A long time ago! I had an A500 when I was about 12, and remember saving for quite a while to buy myself a 20MB A590 HD for it, a year or so later. That purchase was probably the defining moment of my interest in IT in general. I guess many people will remember the first time they upgraded their computer to have a hard disk.

About another year later I upgraded it to a 52MB GVP. (A few weeks ago, I thought these were as rare as hen's teeth, but having found this forum, I see there are a few about!)

Another year on and I sold my A500 setup to fund the purchase of an A1200 with an internal 60MB drive. It was an awesome machine, and I got a lot of fun out of it. But at that time, I was switching my attention towards PCs, so - looking back - the A1200 doesn't hold the nostalgic value that an A500+HD does for me.

Anyway... Fast forward to now, and hear I am, having just sold a load of Amiga kit. And in the process of selling it, and thinking to advertise the sale to fellow enthusiasts, I joined the EAB. And then found myself hooked again, having just parted with all my kit! In the EAB, I was learning loads of cool stuff, and learning how to make use of stuff like WinUAE and WHDLoad.

And now I suddenly find myself interested in the hardware again. Which is why I'm here. ;)

PymerOne

Noob pur sang
AmiBayer
Country
Netherlands, Europe
Region
NoordHolland, Far side of civilisation's border.
Welcome Dash ;)