Oops I just found a C64, now what ?

Station240

New member
AmiBayer
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Posts
307
Country
Adelaide,Australia
Region
South Australia
Just been cleaning out some :censored: :censored: dirtball's filthy :censored: shed. I saw the 1541 disk drive earlier, but just unearthed the C64 breadbox that goes with it.

Just short a PSU to run it which sounds like a good thing, and also the serial cable to use the drive. Will make new ones of those anyway.

Any ideas what I need to properly test this system out ?
Something simple like format a disk, and some type in program to test the sound chip. I was 12 last time I had access to one lol.

ps: It cleaned up nice, and my be donated to a certain local event that has need for one next year.
 

User1301

Deactivated
Deactivated
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Posts
3,172
Country
S
Region
G
Load "$",8 will do a directory of the drive and load "*",8,1 will force load the first program on the disk.

Cheers

John
 

Station240

New member
AmiBayer
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Posts
307
Country
Adelaide,Australia
Region
South Australia
OK thanks a lot.(y)

I also found the serial cable, just need to find a suitable 9V AC transformer to power the thing (I have the 5V regulator already made up).
 

gehtjanx

New member
Banned
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Posts
256
Country
Austria
Region
Vienna
Please note that one is DC, one is AC power!

Or search for a "real"/other power supply in search hardware/Commodore :)

Have fun,
gehtjanx
 

User1301

Deactivated
Deactivated
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Posts
3,172
Country
S
Region
G
Here's a wee basic program that will do a tune to test the sound chip, nothing as simple as a beep command on the C64 lol:

2 FOR L = 54272 TO 54296 : POKE L,0 : NEXT
5 V=54296:W=54276:A=54277:HF=54273:LF=54272:S=54278:pH=54275:pL=54274
10 POKE V,15 : POKE A,88 : POKE PH,15 : POKE PL,15 : POKE S,89
20 READ H : IF H = -1 THEN END
30 READ L
40 READ D
60 POKE HF,H : POKE LF,L : POKE W,65
80 FOR T = 1 TO D : NEXT : POKE W,64
85 FOR T = 1 TO 50 : NEXT
90 GOTO 10
100
DATA 34,75,250,43,52,250,51,97,375,43,52,125,51,97
105
DATA 250,57,172,250
110
DATA 51,97,500,0,0,125,43,52,250,51,97,250,57,172
115
DATA 1000,51,97,500
120
DATA -1,-1,-1
 

cosmicfrog

The 1 That Ribbits
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Posts
3,098
Country
UK
Region
Potteries
yay real retro type it in yourself and run (y)
I remember them days and the magazines :)
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Yay the C64 massive!!! (y)

@ Station240

The breadbin C64 does need a 9v AC supply as well as a 12v DC supply.
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Ohhhhhhh, charity!:)

I'm running a charity program here: "help rkauer to grab a disk unit to his C128"...:whistle:

You can collaborate donating a 1541 of any kind (or even a clone/third part solution).













:jester::jester::jester::jester::jester::jester:
 

cosmicfrog

The 1 That Ribbits
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Posts
3,098
Country
UK
Region
Potteries
I might be able to help you out with a drive rkauer
after I got fitzsteve to collect a load of c64 stuff for me and then post it up to me. Though I`m not opening the 2 boxies of c64 stuff till christmas so at least I`ll have something interesting to look forward to christmas day
So if you don`t find a drive by january give me a PM and if I have a spare you can have it for P&P :)
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Yay the C64 massive!!! (y)

@ Station240

The breadbin C64 does need a 9v AC supply as well as a 12v DC supply.

Its 5v DC not 12v, the case says so for a start, as does the circuit diagram.

Sorry, that will teach me to check first.....:oops:

You could use a 18v transformer and separate the two 9v windings, feed one through a few smoothing caps, diodes and a 78L05 or similar and you'd have 9v and 5v sorted.
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
When Christmas passes I'll create a thread. ATM it's best to not post anything to Banana Land.

Thank you both, guys!(y)
 
Top Bottom