Over-Clocking your CSPPC/CSMKIII card.....Carefully!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
I had some 060 CPU`s sent to me by Zetr0 last year. It was Oct/Nov 2007 when I recieved them & due to health issues along with work issues, Keiths CPU's just never got looked at.
The original deal sets it`s roots at OSUK.co.uk where Keith was selling me an 060 CPU for a crazy low price. At the same time, he had a couple of other 060 CPU's kicking around which I offered to check for functionality at different speeds.

Back in the 80`s, I was overclocking Amigas for more speed. So much so, it kinda over-powered me to do the same with Pee Cees & have been with these things since 1998. Check out my link RE: building a Water Cooled Rig for My Best m8, https://www.amibay.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=604

I thought it would be the only thing to do in Posting this work for several Reasons.

1) An apology to Keith for the aplorable amount of time passed since he sent me the CPU's
2) A mark of respect for the Amiga Platform (my first ever) teaching me my knowledge which I apply to Pee-Cee's today.
3) My experience & skills can be passed on to anyone who has some simple Soldering Skills & fully understands what he/she is doing in the process.

By the same note, please understand, I can not be held resposible for some-one conducting what I post here. This works for me & can be seen here.
http://members.iinet.net.au/~davem2/overclock/csppc.html
Thanks Dave! :)
It isn`t a chicken & egg thing...I don`t know the real exact time of posting for this link, but I might have known about this before it was posted. Either way, I aint responsible for your misdemeanours or muppet like handling procedures, this does work if you do it right.

Stand by Zeets, more Pr0n to come...get rid of the Viagra, you`re gunno be sorted for at least 12 months! :mrgreen:

PS: Wtf did you want for that CPU, or better still, do have a link to the Original Link?? ....LOL!
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

MMmmmmmmmmmmmm yum tastic!!!!

dankie Charlie :D

so what did you get yours to clock to in the end? 060 side / PPC side?????

Well for that 060 full core EC (naughty motorola) I think it was a tenner or there abouts my friend :)

did you get round to testing the others? do they work ?



You know... pound-land ran outa runny honey..... but imma still set with hardware pron the likes of this :D
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

All will be revealed soon Zeets.......

....Waiting for some PCB Strip Board to arrive! :mrgreen:
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

you should of told me thats what your looking for my friend, I could of sent you some LOL

infact let me know your schematic and i will make (etch) a simple PCB for ya :D
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Shit dude...now were talking.

Okay, take an 8 pin Dil Socket....Only 4 pins are used of the eight...the middle 4 being ommited.

I need a piece of PCB with 3 x 4 pin Oscilator pick-up points that match the CSPPC/MkIII Crystal locations.
This needs to terminate to 3 x 4 Pins to match an 8 pin Dil socket, but only pins 1, 2, 7 & 8.
This needs to terminate just clear of the edge of the processor card.

I have pressed 4 of the 8 pins from each of the three the Dil sockets. I will use these to connect the PCB to the cyberstorm Osc. Pins, thereby extending the Oscilator sockets over the edge of the CSPPC card. These modified Dil Sockets (I have Pics :D )would then fit to the PCB. This will allow easy removal/replacement of the Oscilators to test different over-clocks, whilst still maintaining 128Mb of Ram! 8)

Placing sockets on the CSPPC/MkIII means u cant use a D/S 32Mb Simm there! :(
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Okay my friend, show me some pics so that i get a better understanding of what ya after :D
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Wont be able to get them sorted till tommorow m8y. PM me your current email & i`ll get them to ya asap.

I`m sure the spacing of the pins is based on 2.54mm; IE, 10 pins to 1 inch.
Can`t believe were doing this! :D
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Its a pleasure to be part of your hackery my friend :D

(pssst..... by the way you can get my email from the admin forum ;))
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Re: Over-Clocking your CyberStorm PPC card.....Carefully!

Well this took some time coming & it's not really how I wanted to present this article. Almost on the Dawn of my Final clear out of Amiga Hardware, I thought it best to get this out of the way. I'm running out of accelerators Fast! :shock:
I also re-titled this Post to Include the CSMKIII as the PCB is identical to the PPC version & it's the only CyberStorm card I have left! :|

When OC-ing your CS card, the standard A4KD Desktop PSU might have issues with a fully loaded Miggy. I could Imagine a CSPPC card falling over in a lightly loaded Miggy when the PPC was being utilised. The A4KD can only manage 185W @ best & the strains can be all too much if not careful. Air flow is also important otherwise your miggy is going to end up being an Oven on your desk & this will not be conducive to a long & prosperous life. Equally, we don't want to have to resort to Fans howling like Banshees either so all these considerations need to be addressed before even attempting these procedures.
Perhaps experience in Over Clocking would be advantageous & it is worth noting, some soldering skills are required.


Anyway, I titled this "carefully", as in most things in life, there is always more than one way to skin a cat. For the Animal lovers amongst ya, no furry pussies were hurt whilst performing this mod btw! :wink:

First off, we are going to discuss the Ram slots on both the CSPPC & the CSMKIII.
I have owned 4 x CSPPC cards in my Amiga Years & only one CSMKIII in recent months. Of all these cards, only one lends itself perfectly to this mod & the cause for this are the Ram Sockets. All 4 x CSPPC cards used a lower Profile SIMM socket than the CSMKIII!? This means modding the CSPPC is a more complex affair if you want to be able to Plug & Play with different Timing Crystals. This does not mean you cant Mod the CSPPC, it just means you have to solder the Crystals directly to the Board in order to clear the Ram underside when fitted.

Here's a CSPPC sat on top of a Fitted CSMKIII. This is looking from the PSU side of the Case:

comparison2.jpg


Timing Crystals on & above the CPU to Mobo connector. With the Crystals furthest away from you, we can number then 1 to 3 from right to left.

CSPPC cards will have Crystals fitted at 2 & 3 with 3 being empty. The pic above shows Stock Crystal fitting.
CSMKIII cards will have a single crystal fitted at 2 with 1 & 3 empty. The Pic above is already a hard modded overclock.

Crystal #3 sets the Speed of the PPC CPU in conjunction with its respective CPU multiplier. So a CSPPC @ 233Mhz will use a 66Mhz Crystal x 3.5 Multipler on the CPU = 231Mhz. There are small jumpers which can be moved to alternative positions to change the PPC chips Multiplier. I am not covering these events but further information is here:

So, your 50Mhz 060 CSMKIII has a 50Mhz crystal at position 2. Now crystal 2 actually sets the timing for the CPU as well as the RAM & the SCSI III controller. The problem with leaving these in Sync really depends on several factors.
How far will the 060 CPU overclock
How far will the Ram overclock
How far will the SCSI overclock
How good is my PSU & what else am I powering in my Amiga?

The PSU will have a huge impact on the Ram & SCSI. You may have very over-clockable ram & the std Amiga PSU will just fall over trying to deliver enough Volts. On top of this, there will be a threshold where the card can only provide X amount of volts & sometimes, overclocking requires these extra volts.
By not Volt Modding the card, we are limited to the cards own voltage supply & the quality of the components on said card. This kinda leads in very nicely to the disclaimer:

Over Clocking can destroy your Hardware. This guide is intended as information only. If you kill your hardware, don't say "I wasn't aware it would kill it" & then think I am responsible. I am not responsible for your actions.

Okay, so now that's out of the way, lets split the CPU timing from the RAM & the SCSI. In order to do this, we need to get Crystal Position 3 activated. That's easily achieved by moving this tiny cap (jumper) to a new position. Again, there is more info here:

The Pic below is of the CSMKIII:

movedjumper.jpg


Top left of the Pic. The carnage explains itself. I wish I was ten years younger! Trying to focus on this whilst holding a steady hand was a feat in itself. Anyhow, it was a result & was ready to move onto the next little job; Gettin Plug & Play into those "Timing Crystals"!

I picked up some Sockets from RS Electrical. The 8 Pin ones look like this & have the unwanted pins removed:

RemovePins01.jpg


RemovePins02.jpg


Keeping things to Industry Standards, solder these sockets to the board with the indentation to the edge of the card. The Dot or Square Corner of the Crystal goes this way round too. Fitting a crystal with the incorrect orientation will blow up the crystal. It might also damage your Amiga Hardware so be careful when fitting for correct orientation.

The finished job:

socketed01.jpg


socketed02.jpg


I have modified a CSPPC card in a similar fashion. I used a small piece of PCB with Copper Tracks & cut them accordingly. The pins pushed out of the Sockets were used to Anchor the Small PCB off the side of the card using just a solder through & then small jumper wires were soldered to the back of the Sockets mounted on the PCB.
I wont drop names, but he is a Member of this forum & bought the Modified card from me. If he catches up with this thread, I'm sure he wont hesitate in disclosing himself. I'd rather he had the choice to be fair, after all, privacy is priceless.

Cheers folks @ Happy Over Clocking
 

keropi

Active member
VIP
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Posts
7,144
Country
Greece
Region
Ioannina
Re: Over-Clocking your CSPPC/CSMKIII card.....Carefully!

about 1.5 year ago, I had JJB of Amiga Reapir France to do something similar: he put socketed ppc+060 crystals on one of my csppc's, BUT the sockets are on the bottom side, so ram would fit. Plus he changed the oldish 060 with the new mask one that overclocks better. An overkill actually, since I use a goldengate486 in this A4000D: guess what? after 50mhz 060, the gg486 does not work :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom