Found PC2700 Laptop RAM

Status
Not open for further replies.

User1301

Deactivated
Deactivated
Rating - 100%
119   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Posts
3,172
Country
S
Region
G
Hi folks, I have an old Evesham Laptop that I want more RAM for so I'm after either 2x512mb or 2x1gb PC2700 DDR CL2.5 chips if anyone has these,

Cheers

John
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Rating - 100%
107   0   0
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
I might well have some. I'll have a poke around tonight and let you know.
 

User1301

Deactivated
Deactivated
Rating - 100%
119   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Posts
3,172
Country
S
Region
G
Hi Andy, did you get a chance to have a squint to see if you had any of that Ram please?

Cheers

John
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
I have two sticks of 512Mb DDR2 555 PC2-5300 laptop memory in Hynix flavour here - are these of any use....??

Part No. HYMP564S64BP6-Y6 AB-T if that helps on the compatbility front.
 

User1301

Deactivated
Deactivated
Rating - 100%
119   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Posts
3,172
Country
S
Region
G
Thanks Merly, drop me a note on price and I'll check for compatibility in the mean time. Cheers mate

John
 

imnogeek

Active member
Rating - 100%
97   0   0
Joined
Oct 4, 2008
Posts
2,058
Country
UK
Region
Midlands
PC2700 will be DDR1 which is a different slot to DDR2, you will need a hacksaw or hammer to fit them :D

Gary
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
@ Gary

I thought DDR 1 in laptops stopped at DDR-400 (PC2100) and after that it was DDR 2; am I mistaken?
 

JLPedro

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
135   0   0
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Posts
1,325
Country
Portugal
Region
Coimbra
Actually Sodimm DDR400 is PC3200 (200Mhz fsb), witch is DDR1 memory. There's also DDR2 at 400Mhz speeds (200Mhz fsb). DDR1 and DDR2 have different slot's and are not compatible.
 

User1301

Deactivated
Deactivated
Rating - 100%
119   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Posts
3,172
Country
S
Region
G
I'll log the laptop in to Crucial and see what it says it needs exactly :)

cheers

John
 

User1301

Deactivated
Deactivated
Rating - 100%
119   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Posts
3,172
Country
S
Region
G
Eventually done this. Ran the system scanner on Crucial web site and the Laptop can take any of the following (so if you have any spare please holler hehe)

1Gb DDR PC3200, CL3, Unbuffered, NON ECC, DDR400, 2.5v
1Gb DDR PC2700, CL2.5, Unbuffered, NON ECC, DDR333, 2.5v

512Mb DDR PC3200, CL3, Unbuffered, NON ECC, DDR400, 2.5v
512Mb DDR PC2700, CL2.5, Unbuffered, NON ECC, DDR333, 2.5v

Cheers all (y)

John
 

User1301

Deactivated
Deactivated
Rating - 100%
119   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Posts
3,172
Country
S
Region
G
Anyone else have Ram that might suit please - before I grab it from Amazon etc...

Cheers

John
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Rating - 100%
38   0   0
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Sorry - I've only got 256's in DDR400 flavour, just like Gary, or DDR2-555 memory.

:(
 

User1301

Deactivated
Deactivated
Rating - 100%
119   0   0
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Posts
3,172
Country
S
Region
G
Just another bump before I really need to go and get the RAM from Crucial / Amazon etc...

J
 

DonAmiga

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Posts
1,196
Country
Scotland
Region
Midlothian
Hi

I upgraded my laptop last year, this was what I taken out. Not sure about the unbuffered?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom