Question about Saturn and backup games

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
I dug out my poor old Sega Saturn. It was having trouble reading discs after being stored in a box for years on end unused, but I cleaned the lens and its working perfectly once again :D

I was wondering if its possible to play backed up discs without a modchip and without the disc swap trick ?
 

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
Sadly not on the Saturn. You can region mod it but that will only allow the playing of originals from different regions. You will need a modchip to play backups
 

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
Ok no problem. It might be modchipped it might be not. I've got no idea. I bought it second hand years ago from a car boot sale.

I'll try loading a backup game and see if it runs or not I guess.

Sadly not on the Saturn. You can region mod it but that will only allow the playing of originals from different regions. You will need a modchip to play backups

- - - Updated - - -

Disc-Swap I will never attempt as I heard its not very good for the laser/motor
 

Jamma

New member
Joined
Oct 25, 2012
Posts
130
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Suffolk
I got one of those universal mod chips over at assemblergames last year and it worked a treat, pretty much plug and play without the mega soldering of some mod chips.

It was not that much money either, but did work a treat.
 

danwood_uk

Member
AmiBayer
Joined
Jul 13, 2009
Posts
119
Country
England, UK
Region
Nottinghamshire
I got one of those universal mod chips over at assemblergames last year and it worked a treat, pretty much plug and play without the mega soldering of some mod chips.

It was not that much money either, but did work a treat.

Any idea which one? I've got one that needs soldering and have never managed to get it to work, despite cutting the traces and soldering the pads I'm supposed to.
 

dougal

Active member
AmiBayer
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Posts
2,352
Country
Malta
I think he's talking about the V3 modchip or something like that. The only wire that needs to be soldered is a 5v wire. The rest is plug'n'play.

For once the soldering seems easy. Not sure where the modchip can be mounted due to heat/space as I have not googled enough info yet.
 

Jameson

Active member
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 19, 2015
Posts
839
Country
Australia
Region
Queensland
I must say that of all of the consoles I have "chipped" over the years the Saturn is the easiest. From memory the V3 simply plugs into the ribbon cable going to the cdrom and thats it. About a ten minute operation to fit.
 
Top Bottom