Restoring my A3000D

RuneRider

A1000 Keeper of the Faith
Country
Canada
Region
Alberta
Now that I've restored my A1000 I'm moving on to an A3000 project.

I've got the roms on the way, as well as a coin battery replacement. The battery was in perfect looking condition but I removed it anyway.

I found some interesting looking blue stuff on the motherboard and am interested in knowing if any of you have seen this before.
MB 1.jpg MB 2.jpg

I'm not experienced with old systems other than owning several and don't know what this is. The motherboard is very dirty as well and I'm not sure what is the best solution to cleaning it.

Thanks for any help.

protek

"Takai desu ne." -"Jinsei da."
Country
Finland
Region
Oulu, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa
That would be your battery juice. Neutralize with lemon juice and and clean up with IPA pronto!

RuneRider

Country
Canada
Region
Alberta
That would be your battery juice. Neutralize with lemon juice and and clean up with IPA pronto!

Interesting. The battery looks good. I'll make the motherboard lemon fresh and clean it up with alcohol though as you say. Thanks for the help.(y)

P1170356.JPGP1170357.JPG

Last edited:

protek

"Takai desu ne." -"Jinsei da."
Country
Finland
Region
Oulu, Pohjois-Pohjanmaa
Judging from the pictures, the negative end looks smudgy. I'm not an expert on these but I'd say it has leaked. You may also want to check the capacitors by the area of that green residue and in general.

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
I'm with protek on this, that really does look like battery residue. +1 for lemon juice, followed by IPA.

roy_bates

resistance is futile!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Country
england
Region
birmingham
i would be very tempted to remove the parts to clean the board and components if they still work,that is definitely battery leakage..i dont know what your capable of doing,i just know i would.

RuneRider

Country
Canada
Region
Alberta