Retro of a different kind...

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
I've been working on a project for the last year and it finally came to fruition earlier this month. Over the last year, I have been rebuilding a scooter that I bought for my son back in 2013 and it's looking a little different now. It was a 2007 Peugeot TKR 307 WRC 50cc, but it's not any more.

This is what it looked like originally when new.
scooter-peugeot-trekker-307-wrc.14608112-73307751.jpg$_14.jpg$_22.jpg$_23.jpg

Here's what it looks like now. I present 'Project Speedtrek'...

Tameside-20150508-00342_zpshtn74w4a.jpgTameside-20160608-0343.jpgManchester-20150418-00337_zpszdko9o20.jpgManchester-20150418-00338_zpstxwk3pqb.jpgTameside-20150508-00344_zps6thijptv.jpg

As you can see, the bike has been modified and given a retro twist. The handlebars, cowlings and clocks are from a Peugeot Speedfight and the clocks have been modified in that the right hand clock (originally a coolant temperature gauge, but my bike is air cooled) has been changed to a rev counter.

The seat and belly pan have been changed for toned-down versions that change the lines of the bike slightly. The exhaust is a Yasuni Z race pipe and the bike has been given a fast road tune after a full engine rebuild, it flies along now. On top of all that, the wheels were stripped and refinished in dark grey metallic instead of white, road tyres were fitted instead of off road 'knobblies' and aftermarket indicators were fitted to the front lower panels and were made to look like they were factory fitted.