Rochard RH800C Hard Drive size limit?

ElectroBlaster

Active member
Joined
Aug 2, 2010
Posts
1,309
Country
Exeter, Devon
I have a Rochard RH800C sitting here. I probably will use this on an A500+ with kick 2.04.

It has 8mb of ram installed and a small hard drive (ide). Does anyone know the size limit on these things? I found an old 8gb ide drive stashed away and wondered if that would work?

:D
 

cpiace64

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Posts
1,820
Country
Italy
Region
Piacenza
i read max 1gb on internet, i have tested some cf but work fine only with max 256mb
 

ElectroBlaster

Active member
Joined
Aug 2, 2010
Posts
1,309
Country
Exeter, Devon
Are you the chap that tested a few cf cards?

I have two of these Roctec drives. Currently my attention is on the one that needs a good cleanup and I also want to enable the scsi option, the socket for it is empty :(
 

cpiace64

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Posts
1,820
Country
Italy
Region
Piacenza
the utlity on floppy read right the dimension of cf, but don't write the data or partition on some cf

with chip into the socket, my board don't start
 

Toni.Wilen

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Posts
242
Country
Finland
Region
Hämeenlinna
I can easily find size limits if someone can dump drive's boot roms. (by emulating it and then checking what kind of IDE commands it uses and testing different size drive images)

Note that it is not necessarily size limit, I have noticed that many boot roms have bugs in RDB and filesystem handling, especially if drive was partitioned in other controller.

(Any other undumped HD boot rom accepted too!)
 

Toni.Wilen

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Posts
242
Country
Finland
Region
Hämeenlinna
Most expansion ROMs can be software dumped quite easily. It is not 100% guaranteed method but works in most cases.

Perhaps someday I'll write tiny program that does most of it automatically..
 

roy_bates

resistance is futile!
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Dec 18, 2011
Posts
8,387
Country
england
Region
birmingham
if you want to send me the roms ill dump them,you know where i am dont you?

as long as there working the dumps should be fine.
 

cpiace64

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 29, 2011
Posts
1,820
Country
Italy
Region
Piacenza
i send you, more time ago

need verify your e-mail if i wrong

please send me a pm with right e-mail
 

Toni.Wilen

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2011
Posts
242
Country
Finland
Region
Hämeenlinna
Got it, thanks. Version 2.0 still needed :) (At least 1.0 does not have optional SCSI support)

Emulation implemented.
 
Top Bottom