Running specctrum emualtor through dos on a laptop

plaster

Country
UK
Region
Devon
Hi
I have an old IMB Thinkpad laptop, what i want to do is run a spectrum emulator through dos, now i have seen someone selling a laptop on ebay with the emulator already installed, I have emailed him but he is not giving too much info how to do this.

He is using the ZX Spectrum DOS emulator R80 with dos which i have downloaded both but i dont know how to ssetup.

I would like the laptop to turn on and start the emulator, can this be done.

Can anyone help
Bry

jvdbossc

HypnusBE
Country
Belgium
Region
Antwerp (province)
To start something at boot in dos you need to put it in autoexec.bat.

I do not know anything about the emulator, but keep in mind that the machine needs to be rather old to have the needed drivers in DOS.

AmiNeo

CodeMonkey
Country
UK
Region
Kendal, Cumbria
I'm not too experienced with DOS I'm afraid but as far as i know, if DOS is the OS on the laptop then say the emulator program was called emu.exe and was immediately on the C: drive you would just need to type 'C:\emu' and it should run the emulator.

If its in a folder on the C:\ drive then you would need to type the name of the folder too eg. C:\folder\emu.exe

Bare in mind however that non Windows DOS only recognises 8 character names (this is known as 8.3 file naming, or SFN - short filename). This means for any folders with names larger than 8 characters you'll want to be using, I would recomend renaming them or learn a little bit of DOS.

This article on Wiki explains it...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/8.3_filename

Other than that I can't really be of much help without having the machine infront of me. It's been a long time since I've had to use raw DOS.

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
World of Spectrum has all that you need; emulators and instructions as to how to set them up. A DOS boot CD isn't too hard to find via Google.

plaster

Country
UK