Found SCSI zorro card

Status
Not open for further replies.

Justin

Active member
Rating - 100%
143   0   0
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
Hello,
I'm looking for a zorro SCSI card with hard drive for about £30-£40 for use in an a4k, zorro II is good, anyone got one going sapre?

cheers, JuvUK
 
Last edited by a moderator:

hektic

Member
Rating - 100%
15   0   0
Joined
May 4, 2008
Posts
71
Country
Nuneaton, UK
Region
Warwickshire
Hi,

I've got a Commodore A2091 with 6.1 Roms and a 330mb Fujitsu drive.

I'd take £40 + shipping (welcome to collect though)

If your interested I'll include a Seagate ST32430N (2.1G) drive free.
(will need to test it first because its not been in use for a while)

You would need to upgrade the Roms to use >1G drives but these are on ebay for under £15 for V7 :)

Cheers
 

parcival

New member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
8   0   0
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Posts
29
Country
belgium
Region
antwerp
Hi I still have a boxed GVP HC 8+ for sale here https://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?t=3516

It comes with a 4GB drive, 8MB of ram and ribbon cable for 5 devices asking 40€ plus shipping, willing to add a plextor cd writter (1kg) and plextor cd reader (1kg) to the bundle in return for extra shipping.
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Rating - 100%
107   0   0
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
I'll probably have a spare GVP SCSI card available soon if you're interested. I need to track down a non-GVP one first though (since the GVP fights with my Apollo 2030)
 

stachu100

Active member
Rating - 100%
387   0   1
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Posts
2,906
Country
Poland
Region
mazowieckie

Justin

Active member
Rating - 100%
143   0   0
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
wow, ok so i have some choices.

@Andylandy, how long are we talking about m8y?

@stachu100 could you tell me the price with some memory installed?

@parcival i'm afraid it's a bit beyond my currently limited budget when you add the cost of shipping :(

@hektic how much would the carriage be?


cheers, JuvUK
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Rating - 100%
109   0   0
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Thread hijack alert!:ninja:

@Stachu: are you selling some of those zip chips? I have "an A500" that would be interested...:)

No, not me, really. Wife forbid me to buy Amiga gear... But the Amiga itself is interested, so I'm asking in her behalf.:whistle:
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Rating - 100%
107   0   0
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
I actually have two Zorro SCSI cards, both GVP.
One is the HC series II: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact2000hcmk2
Would be looking for about £25 for this card. (Inc P&P)
The other is the HC+2: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact2000hc2
Would be looking for about £35 for this card. (Inc P&P)

The first one uses gvpscsi.device and fights with my accelerator. This makes me sad. :(

The second one has 2MB of 24-bit FastRAM on it and works with the accelerator (it uses scsidev.device) but won't support my CD-ROM drive. It also has physical space issues with installing a disk on it. I've managed to wedge a 4GB drive on it, but it's tight.

I'm potentially interested in either the A2091 or the Oktagon that's come up in this thread. (Obviously Juvvy has first dibs on anything, it is his thread, after all) :)

So Justin, looks like you have a choice of pretty much all the Z2 SCSI cards in existence here. :)
 

Justin

Active member
Rating - 100%
143   0   0
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
@ Andy- i see both units are DMA but how does the card without memory do DMA? don't they use the onboard memory for this?


cheers, JuvUK
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Rating - 100%
137   0   0
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
I actually have two Zorro SCSI cards, both GVP.
One is the HC series II: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact2000hcmk2
Would be looking for about £25 for this card. (Inc P&P)

The first one uses gvpscsi.device and fights with my accelerator. This makes me sad. :(

Its not fighting your CPU my friend, it is infact got no where (24bit Ram) to DMA the data.

It cannot touch the accelerator's fast ram as this is 32bit and outside its addressing ability

To get this card to work, you would need a Zorro memory card, say 1 or 2MB would be more than ample and it will be pucker sir!

=)
 

stachu100

Active member
Rating - 100%
387   0   1
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Posts
2,906
Country
Poland
Region
mazowieckie
wow, ok so i have some choices.

@Andylandy, how long are we talking about m8y?

@stachu100 could you tell me the price with some memory installed?

@parcival i'm afraid it's a bit beyond my currently limited budget when you add the cost of shipping :(

@hektic how much would the carriage be?


cheers, JuvUK

Well, I was thinking about 40GBP with no RAM.
Each 2MB of RAM is 10GBP (unfortnately ZIP RAM is quite expensive...)
Plus 15GBP for transport.
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
I thought prices were supposed to be discussed via PM & not on the thread? :shrug:

Kin
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Rating - 100%
107   0   0
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
I actually have two Zorro SCSI cards, both GVP.
One is the HC series II: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact2000hcmk2
Would be looking for about £25 for this card. (Inc P&P)

The first one uses gvpscsi.device and fights with my accelerator. This makes me sad. :(

Its not fighting your CPU my friend, it is infact got no where (24bit Ram) to DMA the data.

It cannot touch the accelerator's fast ram as this is 32bit and outside its addressing ability

To get this card to work, you would need a Zorro memory card, say 1 or 2MB would be more than ample and it will be pucker sir!

=)

Thing is, the card works fine without the accelerator present (i.e. there's only 1MB of Chip available) -- Presumably I could try it after disabling the FastRAM on the accelerator. If that works, it'll give me some clues. I guess I could also try with both cards in, see if it will DMA to the 24-bit RAM on the other GVP card.

@JuvUK: I'll try and dig the card up for you tonight. Expect PMs tomorrow :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom