Second chance offer on EvilBay

UberFreak

AmiBayer
Country
Israel
Hi

I recently bid (and lost) on a sale of a certain Atari console + games.
The sale ended 3 days ago, and today I got an email from the seller saying that the winner does not respond & he'd like to offer me a second-chance offer.

Now, what bugs me:
1) I'm not the 2nd highest bidder, there is one other.
2) This is quite a heavy lot & the shipping cost is very very low compared to other similar lots. Also, the stated shipping service (USPS First Class) is limited to 4 pounds, which I'm certain is less than the weight of this lot.

As I have little experience with EvilBay, is my money safe if something goes wrong? (package not showing up or something else does...).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! :)

Ed.D

Blogger
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Bristol
It sounds a bit suspicious to me. Only 3 days have passed. I think a seller would normally be required to create a new thread for any item not sold.

Also Ebay's guidance is that you should never enter into sales outside of Ebay.

In all honesty I personally would not go ahead.

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
If it's a genuine 'second chance offer' then you have all the same protections as if you'd won the auction. Log in to eBay's website and check your messages there, it should be easy to work out.

UberFreak

AmiBayer
Country
Israel
Hi

Its not outside Ebay, the seller said he would send the offer via the site.
I never agree to transactions "outside the system" :)

---------- Post added at 11:40 ---------- Previous post was at 11:38 ----------

@AndyLandy:

What about the low shipping?
Am I to assume all other sellers inflate their shipping price by hundreds of percent?
It is kind of strange :unsure:

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks