Software Failure

mwkenna

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Posts
124
Country
Wales, UK
Region
Swansea
Hi Guys

I remember back in the day I had to change my 1200 4 times because it kept doing a software failure on certain games. I have one now which does the same (just had it donated). I am wondering if this is a virus, genuine hardware failure or possibly just a bad FDD?

Oh, the game works in other A1200's! (And it's an original too!)

Anyone have some thoughts? (I would post on Amiga.org but i'm waiting for activation).

Cheers,
Mark.
 

mwkenna

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Posts
124
Country
Wales, UK
Region
Swansea
Hmm... Good question. Ill have to check.

It's Mortal Kombat (original)
How would I tell which Mobo revision I have?
PSU - does that matter? I thought they were all the same (white and light!)
Are there different internal FDD versions?

I was 14 when I last had any technical adventures with my 1200! Give me a break :roll:
 

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
lol fair enough,

psu's are becoming prone to failiure, unstable voltages etc.
open the A1200 case and the mobo revision is written on the board towards the bottom left as you look at it.
and yep there are different floppy drives depending on Commodore or Escom

cheers, JuvUK


Hmm... Good question. Ill have to check.

It's Mortal Kombat (original)
How would I tell which Mobo revision I have?
PSU - does that matter? I thought they were all the same (white and light!)
Are there different internal FDD versions?

I was 14 when I last had any technical adventures with my 1200! Give me a break :roll:


---------- Post added at 15:31 ---------- Previous post was at 15:28 ----------

Hi Guys

I remember back in the day I had to change my 1200 4 times because it kept doing a software failure on certain games. I have one now which does the same (just had it donated). I am wondering if this is a virus, genuine hardware failure or possibly just a bad FDD?

Oh, the game works in other A1200's! (And it's an original too!)

Anyone have some thoughts? (I would post on Amiga.org but i'm waiting for activation). you brave, brave man you :LOL:

Cheers,
Mark.

sorry couldn't resist
 

Tajmaster

Truth, Justice, all that stuff.
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Posts
5,289
Country
UK
Region
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Could it be a bad RAM chip? Maybe someone here could suggest a memory tester?

Are you using an external floppy drive when playing the game? Try disconnecting it.

Does other stuff work ok or is it flaky too?

As for Amiga.org...it used to be a nice place! :D
 

mwkenna

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Posts
124
Country
Wales, UK
Region
Swansea
It's random games but the one I used for example was Mortal Kombat.
It's a Commodore machine so Commodore drive
I will try different PSU's (I have a few)
I dont want to open the unit because it's still guarantee sealed (dont want to invalidate the guarantee ;))
No external floppy drives.

phew..!
 

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
you can get stuff the remove the sticker intact then just re-stick it.

you should open it anyway to see what condition the caps etc are in, you may need to just re-seat the chips

how do you know it's a Commodore A1200?


"now where's my pint of Brains SA?"
 

Justin

Active member
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Posts
12,176
Country
United Kingdom
Region
UK
ok, wait till i get home from work and i'll find out the name for you (unless anyone here beats me to it!)
 

Nathanieltolbert

New member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Posts
1,340
Country
United States
Region
Olathe, Kansas
One of the Commodore A1200's I have seen actually say Commodore on the case. That may be where he's finding that it's a Commodore. One of the Commodore A1200's that Ed is selling says on the label on the front Commodore A1200 if I remember correctly..
 

mwkenna

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2010
Posts
124
Country
Wales, UK
Region
Swansea
Juv - any ideas on what the name of the thing is that can remove guarantee labels without damaging them? I would like to give it a quick once over and get the things sealed back up.

Thanks,
Mark.
 
Top Bottom