Some adviced for upgrading my beloved A500+

zinamo

Country
Italy
Region
Aosta Valley
Hello Everyone,

I'm quite new to the amiga world and by now I only own an A500+ with no improvements but since I'm really enjoying it, I decided to take a few steps to make it even better. Since I have collected only PCs untill a few months ago, the main characteristic of my A500+ is that it has a Vortex AtOnce board ( http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/atonce ) with a 286 CPU that allows my A500+ to be a wonderful cross-plattform machine; well now I would like to improve the A500+ adding a mass storage system, a little fast ram and maybe a little CPU speedup..

For this reason I'm asking your advice on wich hardware to get next.. I have searched a lot for expansion cards and so far I have decided that:

-I want an internal storage solution (no A590 or other external drives)
-I want to keep the AtOnce BUT the 68000 CPU soldered onto it (so has to be "on top")
-I do not need a super fast accellerating board, a little speedup is enought for me..
-The ACA500 is nice but I'm looking for something internal..

My options till now are:

1) Get a kipper2k fast-ram + CF adapter and forget the CPU speedup

2) Get some other accellerator + the Ide68k expansion BUT they have to be compatible and that's not easy as far as I know..

3) Get an M-Tec 68030 + the M-Tec IDE Controller BUT I don't know much about this card and I couldn't find the manual so I'm little scared it is not the good card for me..

My question is: do you have any advice on the above solutions or is there anything else you can suggest me? I know it is not the correct section of the forum but I am looking for some hardware as described above, so if you think you have something for me, just PM me..

Last edited:

watsonfmly

Country
United States
Region
West Virginia
Putting something internal with the ATonce won't be possible (if I remember correctly, I owned one in the early 90s).