Super Hot kickstart roms

Marc

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Essex
Hi all,

Is it normal for kickstart roms to get super hot after a few seconds? If not any ideas what may be causing this?
 

stachu100

Active member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Posts
2,906
Country
Poland
Region
mazowieckie
It's not normal...
Check +5V line, but I don't think it's the reason.
Are there original mask ROM or EPROMS?
 

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
i once plugged a kickstart rom in back to front and it got hot and smoked within around 30 seconds
 

Marc

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Essex
Upon investigation the roms are plugged in the wrong end of the socket!
 

stachu100

Active member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Posts
2,906
Country
Poland
Region
mazowieckie
Yes, this is the only explanation - they are burned and dead instantly if inserted incorrectly.
 

Marc

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Essex
Instantly dead?

That doesnt sound good :(

---------- Post added at 22:37 ---------- Previous post was at 22:28 ----------

Whats the minimum thats needs to be connected before an A1200 mobo will boot?
 

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
i would imagine, scart/rf to see bootscreen & power?
however if no floppy drive is connected booting will usually take longer so you may need to give it a good 5 mins
 

stachu100

Active member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Posts
2,906
Country
Poland
Region
mazowieckie
About 30 sec if nothing is connecter (no HDD, turbo board, ..).
But the chances that ROM's survived are less than 1e-9999999999 :(
 

Marc

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Essex
I have some other ROMS I have tried. Can't get anything out of either of these boards. Buy they were given to me as dead.
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
@wasagi

I am nearly done with blankstares motherboards that I promised him a while back.

it you want (and pickup return postage) I can have a look at them for you.
 

Marc

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Essex
Wow Thanks. Well I have two here. If I pay the postage/return, if you manage to fix one you can keep the other? How's that?
 

arnljot

Dad, gamer, nerd, amigian
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Posts
3,845
Country
Oslo
Region
Oslo
Hot ROMs, yes I've killed ROMs in an A1200 that way. You'll have to try with new ROMs, then you most likely will be fine if the board was working to begin with.
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Sounds like a fair deal =)

hit me up on PM and we can make it happen

please be advised I do have two other jobs that need attention first =D
 

stachu100

Active member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Posts
2,906
Country
Poland
Region
mazowieckie
From legal point of view you can use EPROM's with copy of your KS version that was damaged. Of course you must have dead ROM's; you cannot sell it nor throw it away.
It's sometimes cheaper than buying new KS ROM.
 

Marc

New member
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Posts
690
Country
UK
Region
Essex
Sounds like a fair deal =)

hit me up on PM and we can make it happen

please be advised I do have two other jobs that need attention first =D

Will do, Thanks :) One of them appears to have some work done to it as there is a wire running from the budgie chip elsewhere on the board (timing fix?)

From legal point of view you can use EPROM's with copy of your KS version that was damaged. Of course you must have dead ROM's; you cannot sell it nor throw it away.
It's sometimes cheaper than buying new KS ROM.

Thanks for that info :) I'll keep hold of the roms.
 
Top Bottom