The best commodore monitor for a1200/a4000?

kronuz

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2011
Posts
811
Country
Norway
Region
Oslo
Hi!

I´m looking for a monitor to use with my a4000 and a1200. It must be a commodore monitor.

I plan on using the monitor without graphics card, but would be nice to run 1024x768 with picasso iv later on.


Can anyone guide me to a good option.

The only experience I have with commodore monitors, is the 1084, that cannot run interlace without flicker.



Thank you!
 

jack-3d

kLik me
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Posts
1,053
Country
Czech Republic
Region
Brno
Not sure if Commodore ever made such monitor. You probably mean multisynch monitor capacle 15 and also 31 kHz. Microvitec made such monitors and they are called M1438, M1538, M1738 and M1764. Sometimes these monitors has Amiga label instead of Microvitec (I have M1538 with Amiga label and it is excellent monitor). If you check BBOAH you can see many other monitors which the same apabilities. I personally know Nec Multisynch 3D is a nice monitor and at home I have Nokia 417TV which is one of the few 17" native PAL monitors ;o)
 

kronuz

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2011
Posts
811
Country
Norway
Region
Oslo
Last edited:

ColourWheel64

New member
Banned
Joined
Feb 10, 2011
Posts
1,755
Country
none
Region
none
There are a handfull of 1024x768 capable commodore branded monitors, that were sold with the IBM compatible commodore PC´s

I was gonna suggest one of these. Hopefully, this'll sort you out. Using an indivision the results are noticeably jerkier. My hope is that a Picasso has a better output.​
 
Last edited by a moderator:

BLTCON0

Math inside
AmiBayer
Joined
May 7, 2011
Posts
2,221
Country
Hellas (Greece)
Region
Chania, Crete
But the latest commodore monitors, like the 1084ST, runs 640*512 without flicker straight from the Amiga...right?

No, the monitor must support 31 KHz horizontal sync. The Amiga may be able to promote the videomode, but also requires a capable monitor to match. I don't believe the 1084ST is any different in that area from other 1084's etc - it still only supports 15 Khz.

You'll need what jack-3d says.
 

kronuz

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2011
Posts
811
Country
Norway
Region
Oslo
ahaa, of course!

The 1960 is what I want :D

Thanks guys. Have a great weekend!! :pint:
 
Top Bottom