The story of the mega A2000 job lot

omegamsx

Country
Netherlands
Region
Harderwijk
Hello ppl,

Here is the story of a project I've been working on for the last 5 months, currently nearing completion :)

In January of this year I was fortunate enough to acquire a lot of A2000 stuff from Amiga-Digital in NL.
This is what it looked like after arrival:

loot-1.jpgloot-2.jpgloot-3.jpgloot-4.jpgloot-5.jpg

10 cases, 12 motherboards, some zorro boards, some genlock & misc boards, MFM hdd's and a few power supplies.
After testing some worked, but most of them were having severe problems due to corrosion / varta death and or not working at all, black screen etc.

And it gets worse: lacking almost all screws! no case screws, motherboards held with only one screw.. Also not nearly enough working PSUs and keyboards.. a bunch of missing busters & other stuff. A serious project this is ;)

Now, after almost 5 months of debugging / repairing / soldering every weekend, I've managed to fully restore and clean every motherboard. Curious what 13 A2k mobos in a row looks like?

IMG_5925.jpg

From left to right: 2 donor boards (one rev4 one model a), 5 rev6.x boards, 4 incomplete rev4.x ones (buster missing), 2 complete rev4.xs.

The most broken of them all was this rev6.2 mofo:

2015-05-02 18.14.32.jpg

- All 8 drams dead
- 5 dead 74xx244/254 buffers
- A dead 74LS148
That took two weekends of logic probing and soldering, but it's 100% working ok now (y)
One never knows, but I'd think this one suffered a catastrophic PSU faillure... At least something overloaded the +5v rail...

Another nice one:

a2k-r4.1-1.jpga2k-r4.1-3.jpg

This babe required a new cpu and agnus socket (the latter was shattered to pieces)...

To be continued...

omegamsx

Country
Netherlands
Region
Harderwijk
Some before and after pics!

a2k-rev6.2-2.jpga2k-rev6.2-5.jpg
a rev 6.2

a2k-rev6.2-b-2.jpga2k-rev6.2-b-4.jpg
another poor 6.2

a2k-rev6.4-4.jpga2k-rev6.4-6.jpg