Trying to play with a demo of Magic Workbench

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nathanieltolbert

New member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Posts
1,340
Country
United States
Region
Olathe, Kansas
Hi, I'm trying to play with MagicWB on my A4000 now that I have a keyboard and I'm having problems with the software - It proceeds to hang while installing at - Updating Old Drawer Icons in Sys: - It just hangs and my hard drive light just clicks. Is there something I'm doing wrong? It doesn't appear to want to work at all. Any help would be appreciated, and is the reason I cannot buy a copy of this software because the company no longer exists? I went to their website and clicked the purchase now link and got a message stating - We're sorry but this software is not available for purchase right now. Thanks again for the help.

Nathan
 

Zetr0

Ya' Like it Retr0?
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Posts
9,900
Country
UK
Region
Norfolk
Re: Trying to play with a demo of Magic Workbench

@Nathaniel

Hello there,

now MUI is an okay package however as you have found its no longer supported, so let me introduce you to

Classic Workbench, created by my EAB Amigo Bloodwych

There are several versions to download, and they include MUI amongst a great collection of other tools (pre-installed)

have a look around if you haven't already, I know you will like it.
 

TheCorfiot

Out in the Wild
VIP
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Posts
8,698
Country
Greece
Region
Corfu
Re: Trying to play with a demo of Magic Workbench

IT's Simply The 1st choice for AMIGA OS

TC :mrgreen:
 

Nathanieltolbert

New member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Posts
1,340
Country
United States
Region
Olathe, Kansas
Re: Trying to play with a demo of Magic Workbench

Okay, I've been looking at this classicWB and I can see how to get it to work with WinUAE, but I'm a little concerned on how I would get it to work with a real amiga. I don't have the ability to slide my amiga hard drive into my pc. Stupid new pc only has one ide channel and both are being used and having tried removing the ide hard drive in the system caused my PC to BSOD stating that hardware had changed and the system could not boot. So I had to repair my OS. It's a little too much of a hassle. However I have gotten the CD Rom Drive working on the Amiga, could I use WinUAE to open the HDF and write it to a CD for booting? Any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Nathan
 

TheCorfiot

Out in the Wild
VIP
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Posts
8,698
Country
Greece
Region
Corfu
Re: Trying to play with a demo of Magic Workbench

Hi Nathan

I use an external USB Box & mount it under WinUAE as a HD
Works perfectly.

Enable JIT in WinUAE though, the Disk Transfers are superfast then

TC :mrgreen:
 

Nathanieltolbert

New member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Posts
1,340
Country
United States
Region
Olathe, Kansas
Re: Trying to play with a demo of Magic Workbench

ahh. I see, I will have to try that when I can get a USB enclosure.

Nathan
 

Harrison

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Posts
10,153
Country
UK
Region
West Sussex
Re: Trying to play with a demo of Magic Workbench

An alternative to an external enclosure is a USB to IDE cable. You can get these on Ebay for a couple of pounds and they work well. It is just a cable with a USB port on one end and two IDE connectors on the other (one for 2.5" and one for 3.5" drives). You just connect the drive to the IDE connector then plug it into a free USB port.

I've got one of these and it works fine for just needing to quickly access an Amiga drive through WinUAE for setting up or copying software over. Also saves a bit of time and hassle compared to external enclosures where you need to take them apart to install the drive.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom