Umax Astra 2100U USB Scanner and Windows XP

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
This could almost be in AmiRant, however, I need some help with this. I am building a PC setup as a Christmas present for someone who hasn't much money right now. The main PC is sorted out, however, I am having trouble with a flatbed scanner that seems to be fully working, yet won't play ball under XP Home SP3.

The scanner is a Umax Astra 2100U (USB version) and it doesn't seem to be plug-and-play, as XP doesn't call up the New Hardware Wizard as it's plugged in and the instructions call for it to be plugged in and powered up at boot-up. I know the scanner works OK, as as it came from a machine running Windows 98 SE.

The software I downloaded is Vistascan 3.55u and I've also obtained the later XP patch from Umax. Vistascan is supposed to be a Windows 'All' program, yet I can boiot the machine and see the Vistascan icon in the Systray, yet the software can't see the :censored: scanner.

XP does support the Astra 2100U natively but only the parallel or SCSI versions, I can't select USB as the port. Why they called the parallel and SCSI versions the 2100U escapes me. :nuts:

I don't really need Vistascan; I can use the Scanner and Cameras Wizard - all I need is the damned USB driver *.inf file!! Can anyone help me please, as time is running out for me to get this sorted out?

Thanks
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,083
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
I've got the same scanner and had the same problem setting mine up on XP.

But with the right CD and the right setup program off the CD it is dead easy.

Unfortunately I'm stuck at p:censored:y work until later today. I could have a look then and let you know the process unless some other wizard on here gets the answer to you first (y)

Dave G :cool:
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Thanks davideo, I'd appreciate the help.

Does using Vistascan 3.53u with the 3.55 updater sound familiar, or maybe Vistascan 3.7?

I'm not getting any joy with v3.55u and the updater.
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,083
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
I'm not sure of either of those names but on my CD it gives instructions of which set up to run. I know it's in a sub folder of the CD but can't remember where.

I'll grab my Cd tonight and have a look.

Dave G :cool:
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Thanks; I may need to grab some files from you via Messenger or similar.
(y)
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,083
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
No problems.

Dave G :cool:
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,083
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
Update on this :-

My scanner is the 2200 but as far as I know it uses the same drivers hidden away on the Driver CD Ver 3.55u

Have a look in the directory - VSTASCAN/DISK1 and run the VSSETUP.EXE

It's a long time since I set mine up but I'm sure that's the file you need for USB support on XP.

Dave G :cool:
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Thanks Dave.

I think I've located most flavours of Vistascan now (no thanks to Umax who want to charge for a CD these days for obsolete hardware :mad:), so I'll work my way through them until I find a combination that works.

The most likely one that seems to work for most people is installing the 3.53u version, then upgrading to 3.55, although some say 3.7 works.
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,083
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
I went for straight 3.55u and unlike most other USB devices IIRC you had to plug the scanner in before installing software.

Good luck.

Dave G :cool:
 

bazzaq

Smoke me a Kipper, I'll be back for Breakfast
AmiBayer
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Posts
614
Country
UK
Region
Liverpool
If you go into device manager, does the scanner appear, even as an unknown device??

If it is appearing in some way, then its easier to go from there.

If its not appearing then its faulty, or you have plugged it in a couple of times, maybe to different ports and windows is ignoring it.. sometimes happens with printers..
 

quarkx

insane in the main frame
AmiBayer
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Posts
2,430
Country
Canada
Region
Edmonton, Alberta,
I can't be much help, but I had a Umax scsi astra scanner. When Win XP came out, Umax, in theirinfinite wisdom, wanted to charge me somewhere around $15 for the XP drivers. I searched the net and finally found the Vista-scan software on the German site for free. When I finally got sick of the Adaptec Scsi card having no updated drivers and Umax wanting me to pay for new drivers, I switched to an USB Epson scanner and have not looked back.
Umax WAS a great scanner until the company got greedy. I don't think anyone carries Umax anymore in Canada (I can't find them in any of the local stores anyway)
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Thanks for the help guys. I know it's probably not worth the bother with the scanner, but as it is a Christmas present for someone who could otherwise not afford a PC, so I would like to get it working.

I'm also throwing a Dell 720 printer (a rebadged Lexmark) that I picked up for £5 when Dell were practically giving them away. All in all it's not a bad setup and I'm sure the guy will be overwhelmed when he receives it.
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
@ davideo

I'm getting nowhere with this :censored: scanner. Do you have a utility like Driver Genius or Driver Magician that could backup the drivers that are currently working for you with your 1200U, in order that they could be zipped up and e-mailed to me?

Thanks
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,083
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
@merlin

Unfortunately not but if you want to let me know where to grab it - I'll have ago for you.

Dave G :cool:
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
Dave

Try this for me please.

Go into Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manager and tell me if it's listed under Imaging Devices in the hardware list. If it is, right-click it, select Properties, then click the 'Driver' tab then the 'Driver Details' button and take a screen shot of the window that pops up with the drivers list and their locations.

If I can get that list, I may get somewhere.

Thanks
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,083
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
@merlin

Have a look at the attached.

Dave G :cool:
 

Attachments

  • CD Path.jpg
    CD Path.jpg
    94.5 KB · Views: 0
  • Image1.jpg
    Image1.jpg
    49.7 KB · Views: 0
  • Vistascan Setup.jpg
    Vistascan Setup.jpg
    99.5 KB · Views: 1
  • System Properties.jpg
    System Properties.jpg
    92.7 KB · Views: 0

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Dave,

Turn on the Computer & have the USB scanner connected but powered off. Once @ the desktop & all CPU/Disk activity has ceased......:roll:

Power on the USB Scanner....

Ignore prompts for Installing drivers & cancel all thrown at you. Run the Install program you have from the web.

Follow ALL on-screen prompts during the install & Re-boot when prompted (even if not) & all should be good.

Charlie
 

Merlin

Ministry of Retr0bright and Street Judge
VIP
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Posts
15,597
Country
UK
Region
Manchester
@ Kin and Dave

I've tried all versions of powered up at start up, connected and not powered up and plugged in afterwards, all have given me nada so far. All I am getting is the power LED flashing on the scanner and Vistascan saying it can't find diddly squot when I run Test Scanner.

I have noticed that dave has the driver for the 2200U running; so far, I have been trying to force the system to use the driver for the 2100U in USB flavour. Even trying 'Add New Device' in Scanners and Cameras and searching for the driver manually doesn't come up with a driver for the 2100U. At one point, I saw a driver for 'USB Scanner' then pressed 'next', only to be greeted with 'Select the port that the device uses' with only the options of LPT or COM ports, no USB was selectable.

I can't believe Umax have the gall to charge $15 for this pile of poo...(n)
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,083
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
I can't believe Umax have the gall to charge $15 for this pile of poo...(n)

It may be a pile of poo but it worked for me and I had to fork out the dosh for it :mad:

As fas as I remember the 2100u and 2200u are comparable.

Dave G :cool:
 

davideo

I look like Gizmo
Staff member
Administrator
Staff Moderator
Treasurer
Blogger
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Posts
15,083
Country
UK
Region
Boston, Lincs
@merlin

Have you tried this ini file from the CD?

Code:
[Version]
Signature="$CHICAGO$"
Class=Image
provider=%MSFT%
LayoutFile=layout.inf
[Manufacturer]
%Mfg%=Models
[Models]
%USB\VID_1606&PID_0010.DeviceDesc%=PV8630.Dev, USB\VID_1606&PID_0010
%USB\VID_1606&PID_0030.DeviceDesc%=PV8630.Dev, USB\VID_1606&PID_0030
%USB\VID_1606&PID_0130.DeviceDesc%=PV8630.Dev, USB\VID_1606&PID_0130
%USB\VID_1606&PID_0230.DeviceDesc%=PV8630.Dev, USB\VID_1606&PID_0230
%USB\VID_1606&PID_1030.DeviceDesc%=PV8630.Dev, USB\VID_1606&PID_1030
[PreCopySection]
HKR,,NoSetupUI,,1
[DestinationDirs]
PV8630.Files.Ext = 11      ; LDID_SYS
Gene.Files.Ext = 11      ; LDID_SYS
PV8630.Files.Inf = 10,INF
[PV8630.Dev]
CopyFiles=PV8630.Files.Ext, PV8630.Files.Inf
AddReg=PV8630.AddReg
[Gene.Dev]
CopyFiles=Gene.Files.Ext, PV8630.Files.Inf
AddReg=Gene.AddReg
 
[PV8630.Dev.NT]
CopyFiles=PV8630.Files.Ext, PV8630.Files.Inf
AddReg=PV8630.AddReg
[Gene.Dev.NT]
CopyFiles=Gene.Files.Ext, PV8630.Files.Inf
AddReg=Gene.AddReg
[PV8630.Dev.NT.Services]
Addservice = PV8630, 0x00000002, PV8630.AddService
[Gene.Dev.NT.Services]
Addservice = Gene, 0x00000002, Gene.AddService
[PV8630.AddService]
DisplayName    = %PV8630.SvcDesc%
ServiceType    = 1                  ; SERVICE_KERNEL_DRIVER
StartType      = 2                  ; SERVICE_AUTO_START
ErrorControl   = 1                  ; SERVICE_ERROR_NORMAL
ServiceBinary  = %11%\PV8630.sys
LoadOrderGroup = Base
[Gene.AddService]
DisplayName    = %Gene.SvcDesc%
ServiceType    = 1                  ; SERVICE_KERNEL_DRIVER
StartType      = 2                  ; SERVICE_AUTO_START
ErrorControl   = 1                  ; SERVICE_ERROR_NORMAL
ServiceBinary  = %11%\GLSCAN.sys
LoadOrderGroup = Base
[PV8630.AddReg]
HKR,,DevLoader,,*ntkern
HKR,,NTMPDriver,,PV8630.sys
[Gene.AddReg]
HKR,,DevLoader,,*ntkern
HKR,,NTMPDriver,,GLSCAN.sys
[PV8630.Files.Ext]
PV8630.sys
[Gene.Files.Ext]
GLSCAN.sys
 
[PV8630.Files.Inf]
1220U.Inf
;---------------------------------------------------------------;
[Strings]
MSFT="UMAX"
Mfg="UMAX DATA SYSTEMS INC."
USB\VID_1606&PID_0010.DeviceDesc="UMAX Astra 1220U"
USB\VID_1606&PID_0030.DeviceDesc="UMAX Astra 2000U"
USB\VID_1606&PID_0130.DeviceDesc="UMAX Astra 2100U"
USB\VID_1606&PID_0230.DeviceDesc="UMAX Astra 2200 (USB)"
USB\VID_1606&PID_1030.DeviceDesc="UMAX Astra 4000U"
PV8630.SvcDesc="PV8630 WDM Device Driver"
Gene.SvcDesc="WDM Device Driver"

The path is VSTASCAN\DISK6\U12X0\1220u.ini

Dave G :cool:
 
Top Bottom