Closed Vintage Mac blowout! Performa, PowerMac, clamshell ibook and more! BARGAINS!

Status
Not open for further replies.

scole

New member
Banned
Rating - 97.7%
43   1   0
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Posts
400
Country
Kent, UK
Hello, I'm getting shut of my vintage Mac gear, it's taking up too much room now and my adoring love for it all is becoming outweighed by a desire to be able to work in my study without tripping over hordes of old computers... Good prices to get quick sales!

So, ignore crappy quality of iphone pictures and bask in the retro Mac goodiness. Shipping prices are UK only.

First of all, my favourite, Apple Mac Performa 630, with 14" monitor:

photo3gy.jpg


photope.jpg


A really cute little computer, very very clean, close to mint, slight signs of use on keyboard. As you can see, boxed with polys. Has a fresh install of OS8.1 (a lovely system!), 68040 processor, 36MB RAM, 400MB hard-drive. There's a TV tuner card built in and it comes with a black Apple remote! So, plug in your ariel and watch telly. Doubt it's digital ready though... Anyway, I used this for playing old school Mac games, it's a real treat to use. (*cough* google Macintosh Garden for tonnes of 68K "abandonware"...*cough*) Will handily run ancient versions of photoshop and word etc. I installed an ethernet card so you can hook it into your network and surf broadband! I had it sharing files with Windows XP and OSX too. Lovely. Keyboard and mouse included.

Price for this: Base Unit - £20 shipped, Monitor £22 shipped.

Next...

photo4c.jpg


photois.jpg

PowerMac 7600. Fitted with a 333Mhz G3 cpu card, has 528MB RAM installed, running OS 9.2.2. A vintage powerhouse! That's a 17" monitor. The pint glass is for scale, it's a beast! Has a 12GB HDD installed plus a 6GB 2nd HDD, plus a photoshop scratch disk partition off of one of the drives of 2GB total.Runs Photoshop pretty well, although it did fall over when I tried to run unsharp mask filter on a 400MB Hasselblad digital file I networked over. It deals with sensible files very nicely! The monitor works well, although it takes a few minutes to warm up and may look a little fuzzy at first. Keyboard and mouse included.

Price: Base Unit - £20 shipped, Monitor £25 shipped.

Next:

photoih.jpg


Another PowerMac, this ones a 7200! This one is pretty much stock, 90Mhz processor, 96MB RAM (I think). I have another G3 card that came with this but pulled it when I pulled all the RAM out of it to stuff in the 7600, you need to have as much RAM on the g3 card as you do in the base unit and I ran out! Pretty nice machine, 4GB drive I think, installed with 9.1 or 9.2.2.

Price £15 shipped

Next:

photo2px.jpg


photo5x.jpg


iBook G3, original clamshell version! This has a 300Mhz processor, maxed out RAM at 512MB, 3GB HDD and has OSX 10.3 installed. Also, a brand new battery that holds hours of charge plus an Airport card for wireless net. Under OSX the airport can connect to WEP or WPA networks, under OS9 just WEP. A lovely computer, beautiful. Very clean, no marks or damage at all. Comes with original yoyo charger! Has a lovely keyboard, it's a pleasure to use for typing long Word documents, much nicer than my new Macbook Pro keyboard!

Price: £100 shipped. This is a quality laptop that still runs internet and office productivity stuff nicely, and a future collectors item, hence the price.

Next:
photojn.jpg


Retail copy of OS8.5, with OS8.6 update CD! Complete and mint, looks like it came off the shelf yesterday. These are getting hard to come by.

Price: £30 shipped

Next, bits and pieces:
photo2ez.jpg


G3 card at 400Mhz for PowerMac 7200. No RAM on board.

Price: £10 shipped

photo3x.jpg


16MB RAM, 168 pin.

Price £3 shipped

photo3ie.jpg


Wacom A5 graphics tablet (Artpad 2), SCSI 2GB external drive, SCSI CD-RW.

Price: Tablet £7 shipped, HDD ****SOLD**** , CD-RW ****SOLD****

photo2ip.jpg


Magneto-Optical drive plus 15 MO disks. The drive itself, I buggered. Not sure what I did, it was working then it died and won't come back to life. Odd. I have a vague idea it's something to do with SCSI, I didn't really understand how to hook it all up... Whoops. Maybe fixable? Maybe the disks are useful to you?

Price: £10 the lot shipped.

photo4v.jpg


Gravis flight style ADB joystick. A monster and great for Mac flight-sims! Boxed and looks mint, clearly barely used.

Price: £15 shipped.

That's that for now. Basically I'm just looking to cover shipping, I've priced according to roughly what I think it'll cost to post plus a bit for time spent wrapping and lugging plus a bit extra for a few beers to numb the pain of parting with them... It's a nice little horde and ultimately I'll be glad to see them go to good homes.

Now, if someone wanted to drive down to me (Medway in Kent) and pick this up as a joblot (ibook excluded) to save me the hassle of posting it then I'd be very open to discuss that and load the lot into your car for you (ibook excluded!) for, say £30 for a drink! Twist my arm and I'll probably say £20... :-(

Payment by paypal gift.


S
 
Last edited:

JLPedro

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
135   0   0
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Posts
1,325
Country
Portugal
Region
Coimbra
Interested in the SCSI 2GB external drive and SCSI CD-RW, shipping would be to Portugal. PM'me with total please.
Also looking for a Keyboard and mouse (ADB bus type) for my Mac IIfx.
 

scole

New member
Banned
Rating - 97.7%
43   1   0
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Posts
400
Country
Kent, UK
Interested in the SCSI 2GB external drive and SCSI CD-RW, shipping would be to Portugal. PM'me with total please.
Also looking for a Keyboard and mouse (ADB bus type) for my Mac IIfx.

Hello. I should have been clearer, at the moment this is all UK only. I'll let it stand for a week and then open the floor for international interest (at least, for the smaller items). So, consider your interest noted and if this isn't taken within the UK by next Wednesday lunchtime then we can figure out shipping. I should be able to help with a keyboard and mouse too.

Thanks, and sorry for confusion.
S
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Unlucky JLPedro. Sorry to pounce here;

Hi Steve,
Shipping for the CDRW by what method & what is the Spec on this unit?
Also, does it include it's SCSI cable to hook up to the Controller?

If all is good here, I'll have her. (y)

Cheers,

Kin
 

scole

New member
Banned
Rating - 97.7%
43   1   0
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Posts
400
Country
Kent, UK
Ah, sorry JLPedro, I feel guilty now...

Kin, it is Traxdata CD-RW, 2x Write, 2x Erase, 6x Read (taken from sticker on bottom).

The product code is UK CDEW2260 MAC, if that helps via Google.

It does indeed have a SCSI cable.

I've just hefted it, weighs about a kilo so I'll probably go RM standard parcels.

S
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Rating - 100%
48   0   0
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
2x write. :dry: ....

Sod it, providing it's fully functional, post it. PM sent m8.

Kin
 

scole

New member
Banned
Rating - 97.7%
43   1   0
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Posts
400
Country
Kent, UK
2x write. :dry: ....

Sod it, providing it's fully functional, post it. PM sent m8.

Kin

It was fully functional a couple of months ago. Hmm, it's actually the only thing I haven't tested this week before listing, let me just make sure first...

S
 

Tajmaster

Truth, Justice, all that stuff.
Rating - 100%
289   0   0
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Posts
5,289
Country
UK
Region
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Im interested in the external 2GB drive :)

Sending PM
 

AndyC

Member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
8   0   0
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Posts
397
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Fife
I'm interested in the MacOS8 package...

My dad has a black performa 5400 that I was looking to upgrade for him to get it networked up with his PC. I'm assuming that it will be possible to upgrade from 7 to 8 without losing files etc?

Also, I'm hoping that networking with WinXP will be relatively straightforward too?

Thanks!

AndyC
 

scole

New member
Banned
Rating - 97.7%
43   1   0
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Posts
400
Country
Kent, UK
Im interested in the external 2GB drive :)

Sending PM

Replied, awaiting payment via paypal.

S

---------- Post added at 14:32 ---------- Previous post was at 14:25 ----------

I'm interested in the MacOS8 package...

My dad has a black performa 5400 that I was looking to upgrade for him to get it networked up with his PC. I'm assuming that it will be possible to upgrade from 7 to 8 without losing files etc?

Also, I'm hoping that networking with WinXP will be relatively straightforward too?

Thanks!

AndyC

Hello Andy.

Well, as far as I'm aware you should be able to update and not lose files. I think you can set the install to preserve your old system folder, then when your up and running with OS8 drag and drop the files over from old to new system folder. But don't quote me on that, ask Google first.

Networking to XP isn't hard, I can't remember exactly how to do it but it's just a matter of a few options in a couple of control panels. I found a nice and easy guide somewhere, can't find it now. How about this: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2973?viewlocale=en_US

S

---------- Post added at 14:50 ---------- Previous post was at 14:32 ----------
 

cosmicfrog

The 1 That Ribbits
Rating - 98.8%
81   1   0
Joined
Aug 21, 2008
Posts
3,098
Country
UK
Region
Potteries
interested in 16MB RAM, 168 pin memory, but I might with draw it as got to check a few things firts
 

cyberknight

Retro - Collecting - Nuts !!!
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
7   0   0
Joined
May 8, 2009
Posts
58
Country
Greece
Region
Thessaloniki
If the sale goes international I would like to express interest in the G3 ibook. If you do start sending overseas I'm from Greece so just let me know of the shipping price.
 

Muzer

New member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Joined
Sep 17, 2009
Posts
158
Country
UK
Region
Hampshire
Interested in the Apple Mac Performa 630 - what sort of monitor does it use? I'd prefer not to buy another if that's at all possible.
 

AndyLandy

Acceleration!
Treasurer
Rating - 100%
107   0   0
Joined
Aug 29, 2009
Posts
9,898
Country
UK
Region
Southampton
Interested in the Apple Mac Performa 630 - what sort of monitor does it use? I'd prefer not to buy another if that's at all possible.

Macs use a DB-15 connector for their monitors, so you'll need a Mac monitor, or a converter. Still, you can get Mac-VGA adapters fairly cheap, maybe £5-£10.
 

scole

New member
Banned
Rating - 97.7%
43   1   0
Joined
Feb 13, 2009
Posts
400
Country
Kent, UK
If the sale goes international I would like to express interest in the G3 ibook. If you do start sending overseas I'm from Greece so just let me know of the shipping price.

Hi. Sorry to not reply sooner, I caught a vomiting bug off my son and have been KO'd since Friday...

Anyhoo, interest noted. If no one in uk claims by Wednesday lunchtime then we shall go international! I'll look at shipping in the meantime.

Ta
Steve

---------- Post added at 15:34 ---------- Previous post was at 15:29 ----------

Interested in the Apple Mac Performa 630 - what sort of monitor does it use? I'd prefer not to buy another if that's at all possible.

Hello. Apologies for delay, as above.

Yeah as Andy says it's a proprietry fitment, so either need a mac monitor or an adapter is they're sourceable. I'd encourage you to take the 630 and the monitor together though, it's only a small display really but it goes well with the computer, both very clean, nice and crisp too.

Let me know what you think.

S
 

AndyC

Member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
8   0   0
Joined
Jul 16, 2008
Posts
397
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Fife
HI there...

I'm withdrawing interest in MacOS8 - I spoke to my dad and he's not fussed any more...

Cheers,
AndyC
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom