What have i gotten myself into? A1200 in the making...

samaron

Country
Norway
Region
Rogaland
Well, this is another Amiga 1200 tower conversion. The catch is that I'm fairly fresh with Amiga computers. Have owned a 1200 and 500 for soon 15 years, but never really got around to tinker much with them. If anyone have suggestions, please come with them. I'm still learning and trying to do my best. Yes, I am also fully aware this is a quite hefty system to start with. No pain, no gain. :ninja:

So this autumn I got the brilliant idea that I should put together an awesome Amiga 1200. The goal is to expand it a lot, that's why I landed on a tower conversion. It is to be loaded with games and demos, as the demoscene is something I find really fascinating. It should also run some more challenging games, like Quake, Doom or whatever.

I searched high and low for a computer cabinet that would fit the A1200, but all the stores seemed to be sold out. Managed to come across a tower at my country's number one advertising site. It is an old Elbox E/BOX 1200 cabinet, it came with a CD-ROM, floppy drive, motherboard, PowerFlyer (FastATA), Mediator 1200 and Voodoo3. Got a mouse from a friend and dug out some old PC keyboard I found with AT connection. I discovered this site in my search for an accelerator card and bough a Blizzard 1260 with 64MB RAM and a SCSI kit for it with 128MB RAM. I soon realized my PowerFlyer were crap and bought a new FastATA MK-IV CF/SATA from Elbox. I also bought a new motherboard which is fully recapped by a nice chap on this forum.

The current specs are:
E/BOX tower
Amiga 1200 rev 2B motherboard
Blizzard PPC - 68060 @ 66 MHz, PPC @ 330 MHz, 256MB RAM, SCSI controller
Mediator PCI 1200
Voodoo3
Fast Ethernet network card
Sound Blaster 128
CD-ROM (secondary master)
160GB hard drive (secondary slave)
4GB CF card (primary master)
Amiga OS 3.9 with Boing Bag 2 and ROM update
Classic Workbench v28 for OS 3.9
PFS3 filesystem on all disks