what speed is your amiga?

mjnurney

we live as we dream. Alone.
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Posts
9,473
Country
england
Region
Milton Keynes
im just wondering what speed you guys prefer (and cpu type) im trying a few amiga cd-rom and man my A4000 is slooooow...

My A4000 is a 16mb, 030 @ 25mhz and myst is sooo slow lol, oh well hopefully and 040 is coming my way...

What speeds, cpu, ram have you settled for with you Amigas?






Amiga A4000, 3.0, refurb mobo, 16mb (new 60ns), 2x 4gb CF, Deneb usb,CD-rom & A1200 3.1, 32mb, Apollo 040, 4 gb CF
 

johnim

New member
VIP
Joined
May 18, 2010
Posts
13,051
Country
England
Region
birmingham
i have
1200 with 1260@50mhz 32+16+2 mb
1200 with 1230@50mhz 32+2 mb
2x1200 with 020@14mhz 2mb
2x600 @7mhz 1mb
500 @7mhz 1mb
500 @7mhz 9mb
2000 @7mhz 9mb
 

Templar

In Finem Vobis Videtur De Christiana
VIP
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Posts
9,698
Country
Hellas
Region
Cydonia
I've played and completed Myst on my A1200 with a Blizzard 1230/50MHz + 32MB Fast RAM and it wasn't slow at all.

And where is 68010? (well, in certain circumstances only) :)
 

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,979
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
I can't really vote as I now have my own little museum of Amiga's! :boing::Commodore::rainbow:

It all comes down to what you use your Amiga for mostly, well me I like to build them and tinker with them, upgrade them, install the perfect workbench, etc. I guess 060 is perfect for that (or 040 if you're on a buget)

But if I just want to play a few games on WHDLoad the the 030 is perfect, just load er up and away you go!

Now I've got the Sound Card for my A4000 though I can see me spending a lot of time messing around with that. :bounceBoingBall:

Ohh and then there's Quake 2 on MiniGL via the PPC :bowdown:

At this point my head exploads, see I can't vote!

:explode

As per my Sig, this is what I am running at the moment!

A600 + 2mb Chip + Apollo620 w/8mb + 4gb MicroDrive + CWB FULL

A4000D Apollo 4040 @40mhz + 128mb/16mb + 2GB CF-IDE + Buddha IDE/DVDRW + CWB OS3.9 + PicassoIV RTG
/ Tocatta 16Bit Sound

A1200D + Blizzard 1230 @50mhz + SCSI/FastATA 4gb CF + 256mb + CWB ADV SP + Ext CDRW

A1200T + Blizzard PPC 240mhz - 060 @50mhz + 256mb + 40gb HDD/DVDRW + CWB P96/OS4 + Mediator PCI/Voodoo5500 RTG/SB128

 

mjnurney

we live as we dream. Alone.
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Posts
9,473
Country
england
Region
Milton Keynes
perhaps its not fair to say myst is slow..but a little more cpu would help. apart from the animation at the start the game runs quiet well...never played it before, so i expect some more hours will be lost....

And yes i agree for WHDload and 030 is excellent.

having said that id like to try some newer Amiga stuff (new being a non exact word here)

damn commodore , why didnt they fit a cd-rom in the 1200! ....we could a shown them! ruled the world i tell ya!
 

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,979
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
perhaps its not fair to say myst is slow..but a little more cpu would help. apart from the animation at the start the game runs quiet well...never played it before, so i expect some more hours will be lost....

Some games though its just bad coding like Alien Breed 3D II - even sucks on a 060 but an 060 can play Quake!

Test Drive 2, jumpy on 020/030/040 and even 060! Smooth on Snez :roll:
 

mjnurney

we live as we dream. Alone.
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Posts
9,473
Country
england
Region
Milton Keynes
@fitzsteve

A4000D Apollo 4040 @40mhz + 128mb/16mb + 2GB CF-IDE + Buddha IDE/DVDRW + CWB OS3.9 + PicassoIV RTG / Tocatta 16Bit Sound...

hows the A4000 with cd-rom gaming , is the picasso any good ?

---------- Post added at 01:01 ---------- Previous post was at 00:55 ----------

the 68010 ? used in some early accelerators wasn't it ? oh and a A500 hack as i recall
 

Templar

In Finem Vobis Videtur De Christiana
VIP
Joined
Aug 1, 2008
Posts
9,698
Country
Hellas
Region
Cydonia
perhaps its not fair to say myst is slow..but a little more cpu would help. apart from the animation at the start the game runs quiet well...never played it before, so i expect some more hours will be lost...

Don't judge by the intro animation. The entire game is just static ray-traced graphics with few animations here and there.

---------- Post added at 03:03 ---------- Previous post was at 03:02 ----------

68010 is a good and little upgrade for CDTV owners (according to WHDLoad blah blah). :shhh:
 

fitzsteve

Retired Slacker
AmiBayer
Blogger
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Posts
19,979
Country
UK
Region
Sevenoaks
@fitzsteve

A4000D Apollo 4040 @40mhz + 128mb/16mb + 2GB CF-IDE + Buddha IDE/DVDRW + CWB OS3.9 + PicassoIV RTG / Tocatta 16Bit Sound...

hows the A4000 with cd-rom gaming , is the picasso any good ?


Its a great system, everything I played on this has been great. Have played many CD Games Payback, Genetic Species, Phoenix Fighters, On Escapee, T-Zer0, Napalm, Final Osyssy, Wasted Dreams - All Perfect (y)

The PicassoIV is the best thing since sliced bread - RTG 24bit workbench and auto switching to native screens via the Scan Doubler/Flicker Fixer. Will never get tired of that!
 

mjnurney

we live as we dream. Alone.
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Posts
9,473
Country
england
Region
Milton Keynes
Oh thats good news, im building a similar system as beer tokens allow. Jon hare has a Cybervision3D for sale ...i fancy slotting that in ,although im in talks with one of two 040 cards ......oh the expense!

---------- Post added at 01:14 ---------- Previous post was at 01:13 ----------

@blankstare

Damn sir ......damn fine system :bowdown:
 

HonestFlames

New member
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Posts
346
Country
England
Region
Shropshire
Blizzard 030/50+FPU here. I used to have a Blizzard Mk3 with the same configuration, years ago. It blazed through everything I needed it to. If I hadn't gone and switched to PC, I'd probably have ended up with an 060/PPC.

Doom doesn't exactly run well on my current Amiga, but it's only installed as an interesting aside. My Amiga is currently spending most of its time running AMOS Pro and the ANSI editor I'm working on.

Alien Breed 3D 2 has a speedup patch available, which fixes a few stupid programming mistakes.
 

tokyoracer

(Not actually from Tokyo).
Blogger
Joined
Jun 5, 2008
Posts
4,907
Country
United Kingdom
Region
Norfolk
I got:

1x A500 - 68000 @ 7mhz
1x A500+ - 68000 @ 7mhz
1x A600 - 68000 @ 7mhz
2x A1200 - 1x 68020 @ 14mhz + 68882 @ 33mhz and 1x 68020 @ 14mhz
1x A1200T - 68030 + 68882 @ 50mhz
1x A2000 - 68030 + 68882 @ 40mhz (coming soon)
1x A4000 - 68040 (RC) @ 25mhz
1x CD32 - 68020 @ 14mhz
 

mjnurney

we live as we dream. Alone.
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Posts
9,473
Country
england
Region
Milton Keynes
A clear leader (as to be expected really) is the 030...so does this mean that most people use the Amiga for Whdload gaming and / or stock programs from the Amiga era then?

i did wonder wether the PPC or 060 would have a strong following
 

Witcher1979

New member
Banned
Joined
May 30, 2010
Posts
2,389
Country
Westleton, Suffolk, UK
Region
Suffolk
I use mine for the internet/ftp/irc browsing hol/amr here etc.

Games of course, music demos. The 030 is a beast really. Internet/ftp/browsing listening to music and doing other stuff all at the same time.

The only thing I can't really do is watch 060 demos at full speed (most start)

I converted all my mp3s down to 3-4 meg files so the amiga plays them nicely :)
 
Top Bottom