Status
Not open for further replies.

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC
Re: Who on here works in the IT industry ?

My title is quite generic: Information Technology Manager

I work at a small company that makes Poultry Chilling and Ice Making equipment (www.morris-associates.com). My job basically entails managing 4 internal servers and supporting around 50 workstation/notebooks. I also take care of anything even slightly technical (Cell Phones, PBX, etc) and help our marketing person with the technical aspects of our web site.

I'm also learning how to program our touch screen interface and programmable logic controllers that we use in the equipment we manufacture. I'm excited about doing more creative stuff like that instead of the same old break/fix work supporting the users.

Heather

leohopkins

Frozen
Country
Croydon, England

Sounds interesting :)

The reason i asked this is because im a student through the open university and am studying for a bachelors degree in engineering (im in my first year) - I will studying for the CCNA (as part of my uni studies, and fingers crossed, this time next year i'll be CCNA certified.) My question is: Without prior IT industry experience, and without any other certifications (such as A+, MCSE etc) Do you reckon I could get a job in IT on the back of the CCNA qualification alone ?

SkydivinGirl

Retro Girl
Country
USA
Region
Raleigh, NC

Good question! I have never had any formal training myself. At one point, I did take one of the Microsoft certification tests for Windows NT 4 Server and got a certification for it. I started out doing Help Desk work but quickly moved on to more advanced roles because I was very good at my job. I worked at Nortel, before they started to tank, and was in the Level 3 Support group. We basically taught the second level techs new information or processes and we fixed issues that first or second level techs were unable to fix.