Will it Toast?

masheen

New member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Posts
58
Country
Sweden
Region
Uppsala
Hi everyone.

I recently bought a second A4000D to replace what I thought was a broken one.
However it wasn't broken so now I have 2 (lucky me :mrgreen: ), and was thinking I'd do something different with one of them.

So question is does a Video Toaster 4000 work in a european A4000?

I know that I'd need to supply it with NTSC inputs somehow, but other than that it'd be cool to have one of the most impressive computer peripherals ever made. :bowdown:

Cheers
/masheen
 

masheen

New member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Posts
58
Country
Sweden
Region
Uppsala
Re: Will it Toast?

Well I searched around a bit and though I couldn't find anything conclusive it seems it should work if I set the jumper on the mobo to NTSC.

Btw does anyone here use a Toaster (any model)

Cheers
/masheen
 

keropi

Active member
VIP
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Posts
7,144
Country
Greece
Region
Ioannina
Re: Will it Toast?

ofcourse it will work with the a4000 jumpered to NTSC , but it will accept NTSC and produce NTSC signal, so no PAL... rather pointless to install one IMHO
 

quarkx

insane in the main frame
AmiBayer
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Posts
2,430
Country
Canada
Region
Edmonton, Alberta,
Re: Will it Toast?

I found out the hard way, that you will not be able to use the Video toaster software on OS 3.5/9, so just a heads up. It caused all kinds of nasty nightmares.
 

RedDaemonFox

Amiga's enemy is my enemy!
AmiBayer
Joined
May 10, 2009
Posts
737
Country
United States of Hell
Region
Melbourne, FL 32901
Re: Will it Toast?

quarkx said:
I found out the hard way, that you will not be able to use the Video toaster software on OS 3.5/9, so just a heads up. It caused all kinds of nasty nightmares.
Are you saying with the defined setup above or in all cases? I'm sure the former is what you mean
 

rkauer

Amiga fanboy
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Posts
10,337
Country
Brazil
Region
São Leopoldo, RS
Re: Will it Toast?

A guy from here use to use his A4000D/Toaster/Flyer dedicated video production gear with 3.9. It's just a matter of turning off the eye-candies (magic menu, asyncWB, tools prefs, etc) and made the icons draw on "other memory" (Workbench icon inside Prefs: ).
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Will it Toast?

I didn't have any issues with 3.9 & a VT4000/Flyer/Sync combo. But then, using the latest software for the Amiga Toaster is half the battle. V4.3 was the last afaik & the support from NewTek for Classic Amiga Users appears to have gotten worse in the last 12+ months.

Kin
 

Kin Hell

Active member
Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Posts
6,970
Country
U.K.
Region
Cornwall
Re: Will it Toast?

@ masheen

I discovered a box the other day (was looking for another & still can't find it) with my toaster software. They're add on Horror Effects, explosions, animal farm (don't go there! :whistle: ), textures and others. Let me know if you're interested & I'll get you some pics sorted!

RE NTSC being pointless, it's not entirely if you re-code the Amiga Video to PAL. Miggy does the smooth donkey work & ure Quad DUO cuts through the re-code! - Get networking! :wink:
Also, if ur running the right monitors off the Toaster setup, NTSC displays fine. You can even use a Pee Cee monitor if your lucky enough to own a 'Toast Scan'. :mrgreen:

Kin
 

masheen

New member
Joined
May 24, 2009
Posts
58
Country
Sweden
Region
Uppsala
Re: Will it Toast?

@Kin Hell.

Well I'd be interested, but not until I actually get a Toaster (and flyer preferably), and that's not happening anytime soon unless I find a real bargain. (I really need to slow down on getting Amiga related bits until I've sorted out all the stuff I've bought recently)

and regarding NTSC I was thinking the same.

/masheen
 
Top Bottom