Closed Windows XP machine capable of running omniflop

Status
Not open for further replies.

sir_beaker

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
84   0   0
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Posts
1,933
Country
England
Region
Alresford
I'm after a small XP machine known to run omniflop if anyone has one available?
 

Sardine

Well-known member
Staff member
Staff Moderator
Blogger
Rating - 100%
254   0   0
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Posts
11,934
Country
England
Region
Merseyside
wont it work with the P233 MMX windows 98 you got off me ??
 

sir_beaker

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
84   0   0
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Posts
1,933
Country
England
Region
Alresford
Sadly Omniflop is XP onwards. I spent hours trying its predecessor, Omnidisk using the DOS partition of your old machine with "write from {imagefile}", openout {imagefile} or might have been openin followed by write etc, etc but I couldn't get it to write a disk that my Archimedes A3010 would read. I did think about installing another hard drive on the machine with XP but from all accounts it would probably run like a dog so I didn't bother. Sadly the only XP machine I have is a laptop without a disk drive and you can't use an external USB floppy with Omniflop. It seems the A3010 can read DOS formatted disks and write ADF images back to disk but guess what, there's a problem with the drive and I can't format a disk :cry:

Thankfully Bas stepped in and I'm sending the Archimedes to him and he's hopefully sorting me out with a machine I can use Omniflop with (y)
 

Sardine

Well-known member
Staff member
Staff Moderator
Blogger
Rating - 100%
254   0   0
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Posts
11,934
Country
England
Region
Merseyside
nothing much left here :(

got an amd XP 2000 or 1800 cant remember, mobo and cpu no ram.. your better off getting that 1ghz box you have made interest in as its complete ready to go albeit slow but it will do what you want. unless bas has summit for you :D
 
Last edited:

sir_beaker

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
84   0   0
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Posts
1,933
Country
England
Region
Alresford
Oh, I'd be interested in the motherboard and CPU. I've got an old P4 3.6Ghz HT machine in the loft which I think burnt itself out as it got hideously unstable at the end and I could never be bothered to fix it as the thing sounded like a jet with the big fan going 100% all the time but it has a nice nvidia 9600GT card and a couple of SATA drives which might go nicely with it and might make a nice XP gaming machine (y)

How much did you want for it?
 

Sardine

Well-known member
Staff member
Staff Moderator
Blogger
Rating - 100%
254   0   0
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Posts
11,934
Country
England
Region
Merseyside
you can have it,,, i think it needs DDR not ddr2.

ive also got 2 or 3 P4 socket 775 3ghz dual core cpu's i think model is 925D might resurrect your unstable P4


I've got something I want to post to bas anyway if that's where you want them to go ?




also got 3 arcade cab boxes, they are out of fruit tv machines, perfect as they auto switch on when power is applied and a nice cage for the mobo i want to put in. low power PSU but i will only be running mame. standard P4 / celeron socket 478 so not upgradable to dual core and too slow for most mame games.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20150531_132138.jpg
    IMG_20150531_132138.jpg
    195.4 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_20150531_132224.jpg
    IMG_20150531_132224.jpg
    203.4 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20150531_132244.jpg
    IMG_20150531_132244.jpg
    198.3 KB · Views: 1
  • IMG_20150531_133233.jpg
    IMG_20150531_133233.jpg
    191.3 KB · Views: 1
Last edited:

sir_beaker

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
84   0   0
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Posts
1,933
Country
England
Region
Alresford
Thanks for your kind offer.

I've just pulled the old machine out of the loft.

It looks like it's an Microstar motherboard 7046 with some DDR-400 memory chips. Would that support the dual core CPU? I can only see information up to 3.8Ghz HT P4 online. I think I'll probably buy a new case as the current one is very of the period (plastic, blue and horrible lol).

I do have a key for XP Media Center lol (y) Why anyone would want to use it as a media center I have no idea. I don't think any TV volume would have gone up high enough to drown out the sound it made.

What do you think my best option is, sorry? Single core AMD might be better for some old games?

P1050675.jpgP1050672.jpgP1050671.jpg
 
Last edited:

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Rating - 100%
503   0   0
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
That's a Packard Bell if ever i saw one.

I have exactly the same case in my loft. Ugly things :LOL:
 

sir_beaker

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
84   0   0
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Posts
1,933
Country
England
Region
Alresford
Oh it's much worse than that my friend....

- - - Updated - - -

.... PC World muck lol :LOL:

P1050676.jpgP1050677.jpg
 

scrappysphinx

Confused retro man
VIP
Rating - 100%
503   0   0
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Posts
7,964
Country
UK
Region
Nottingham
Haha, i used to work at PC Service Call, the call center for dixons/currys/pc world. Believe it or not, I took loads of calls regarding Packard Bell/HP Computers but not so many about the Advents. Packard Bell were horrible, they used something called a tattoo in the bios which also had to be present on the recovery cd & hdd and two out of the three had to match or the recovery refused to work and somehow they seemed to fail weekly. It's not a pleasant process trying to guide someone through re-tattooing the machine in dos over the telephone.
 

sir_beaker

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
84   0   0
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Posts
1,933
Country
England
Region
Alresford
Ouch, I think I had to reapply Windows to it once with the 5CD pack and it actually was pretty painless so I should be grateful.
 

Sardine

Well-known member
Staff member
Staff Moderator
Blogger
Rating - 100%
254   0   0
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Posts
11,934
Country
England
Region
Merseyside
i think your out of luck with the msi 7046
manual http://laptok.nazwa.pl/allegro/ms7046/SPEC.pdf

its an early LGA775 and supports Prescott P4 and the 5xx , 6xx range P4 processors , so thats no Core2duo or P4D dual cores :(
http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-Intel_(chipsets)/915P_Express.html
Model: MS-7046


Motherboard Specifications:


CPU
Supports Intel Pentium 4 Prescott LGA775 processors in LGA775 package.
Supports up to Pentium 4 3XX, 5XX sequence processor or higher speed.
Supports Intel Hyper-Threading Technology.


Chipset
Intel 915P chipset
Supports FSB 533/800MHz.
Supports DDR 400/333 memory interface.
 
Last edited:

sir_beaker

Active member
AmiBayer
Rating - 100%
84   0   0
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Posts
1,933
Country
England
Region
Alresford
Dang, would it be OK to grab the AMD XP + mobo off you and I'll start afresh. I assume it can use the DDR-400 memory?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom